Join Seán Duggan for an in-depth discussion in this video iCloud photo sharing, part of iPhone and iPad Photography with iOS 9.
- A cool feature of the Photos app is that you can create albums that you can share with other people directly from your iOS device using iCloud. Images in a shared album are not part of your normal iCloud storage, so you don't have to worry about using up your storage limit with this feature. Once you've created a shared album, anybody that you've invited to it can also add photos as well as comments and those will show up on your iOS device. Let's check out how this works. To set up iCloud photo sharing, go into the Settings area and then go down to iCloud.
And then into Photos. And then down here at the bottom turn on iCloud Photo Sharing. I'll go out to my Photos app. And tap the Share button at the bottom of the screen, and then tap Start Sharing. We need to give the album a name. I'll just call this one Santa Barbara. And I'll tap Next. And now you need to enter in who you want to send it to. Send it to one of my contacts.
And then I'll tap Create. Once you've created the album you have the option to add photos or videos to it. So I'll tap that, and I'll select some images here. That one, that one. Maybe that one. And that looks pretty good. And then I'll tap Done. The people I've shared it with will see a notification badge on the icon for the Photos app on their iPhone, and when they tap the shared icon they'll see the invitation.
Of course, in order for this to happen on their end they also need to have an iCloud account and have iCloud photo sharing enabled on their devices. Now anybody who has been invited to the shared album can also comment on images or add their own photos to it. Just go into one of these images here. And then down at the bottom I can tap Add a comment and I'll just put in a comment here. And then I'll tap Send. And you can see that this comment is showing up here with the image, so they and anybody else I've shared this album with will see it and also can interact with their own comments.
iCloud photo sharing is a really convenient way to share photos if you're traveling with a group of friends or family and you want to easily share some of the images that you're all taking. Now let's take a look at some of the other settings that are associated with a shared album. I'm just going to tap Activity up here in the upper left, and then back to Sharing, and then I'll tap on the Santa Barbara album. And then down at the bottom I'm going to tap on People. Here you can see who you've already shared the album with, and you can also invite new people, as well as control whether or not subscribers can post to the album, and show notifications when people like images, post a comment, or add new photos and videos to the album.
You can also create a public website of the album and anyone can access it if they have the unique URL for that page. This is a good way to share an album with people who may not have an iOS device or an iCloud account. I'll turn that option on. Once the link for the public website is available you can tap the Share Link button and then you can send the link to people via a variety of methods. Here's what one of my shared albums looks like when viewed in Safari on the Mac.
You can click on thumbnails to see a larger version, use the arrow navigation tools to move forwards through the images or use the arrow keys on the keyboard. And if an image has a comment, as this one does, you can see it down below right here. You can see there's also options to play the images as a slideshow, download images, or view them in fullscreen. I'm just going to come and click on the name of the album right here in the upper left. And you can see here as I mouse over this image that it does have the comment, that you can see the comment appear down below.
You can delete a shared album using the option at the bottom of the screen. This will remove it from your devices, and the devices of any people that you've shared it with. I'm just going to leave that where it is for now. I'll tap the Sharing button in the upper left to just return to the album here. One final thing to know about a shared album is that if you want to make sure you have a copy of an image that you don't already have in the camera roll on your device, you'll need to save it. So for example if it's a photo that somebody else has shared to that album, what you need to do is just select it, and then tap the share export button and then save it to your camera roll.
So for instance if this picture of the flower in the fountain was a picture that somebody else had uploaded I would just tap Select up in the upper right, and then choose that photo, and then come down and tap the share export button in the lower left. And then I could use this third choice to save the image. iCloud photo sharing is a convenient way to share images with other people so that they can also add images to the same album as well as share their own comments about them.
- Adjusting exposure and focus in the Camera app
- Using the self-timer and burst modes
- Shooting slow-motion and time-lapse videos
- Flagging favorites
- Making smart adjustments to light and color
- Trimming video
- Sharing from Photos
- Sharing with iCloud
- Syncing photos with iTunes and My Photo Stream
- Using the iCloud Photo Library