WordPress employs a variety of user roles that let you, as the site owner and administrator, control who can do what with your site. User roles determine the access level or permissions of an authorized person to use your site. Learn what each of the available user roles is and what specific permissions they have.
- Wordpress is great for collaborating with other people. Whether you're sharing administrative duties, have multiple writers for a site, or are collecting fans and followers, Wordpress makes it easy to work with others. Wordpress employs a variety of user roles that let the site administrator and owner control who can do what on a site. User roles determine the access level of permissions of an authorized person - people you've invited to use your site. An administrator has full power over the site and can do absolutely everything.
Administrators can create other administrators, invite new users, remove users, and change user roles. They have complete control over post, pages, uploaded files, comments, setting, themes, imports, exports, and other users - the whole shebang. Nothing is off-limits for administrators, including deleting the entire site. This is why I recommend only having one administrator per site. An editor can create, edit, publish, and delete any post or page, as well as moderate comments, manage categories, tags, and links.
An author can only create, edit, publish, and delete their own posts, and they can also upload files and images. Authors do not have access to create, modify, or delete pages, nor can they modify posts created by other users. Authors can edit comments made on their posts. A contributor can create and edit their own post, but can't publish them. When one of their posts is ready to be published, an administrator or editor has to do it for them. Once a contributor's post is approved and published by an administrator, it can no longer be edited by that contributor.
Contributors do not have the ability to upload files or images, but they can see your site stats. The last option is followers. Followers do not have any editing privileges on your site whatsoever, they're simply people who have signed up to receive updates each time a new post is published. The only action they can take on a site is to leave comments, and that's only if you've enabled them on a post, though people can leave comments on a post even if they're not a follower. If a blog is public, anyone can follow it. Invitations can be sent to specific people you'd like to share your blog with.
If your blog is private, nobody can see it unless you specifically invite them, at which point they become a viewer. They can access a private site they were invited to, and leave comments. If someone is a follower of a public site, and that site later becomes private, they don't automatically become a viewer. They must always be specifically invited.
- Creating a WordPress.com account
- Updating your profile
- Importing content
- Publishing posts
- Applying categories and tags to posts
- Inserting images, videos, and other media
- Creating a new page
- Customizing your site with themes and widgets
- Managing users, notifications, and comments
- Using WordPress.com apps
- The limits of WordPress.com and the benefits of self-hosting