Learn how to invite users to your site and assign them to a specific role. You can also change roles for existing users. Carrie shows you where you can manage all users with access to your site, including removing users. If you remove a user, that user will no longer have access to your site, but any content they’ve published on the site will remain.
- [Voiceover] Now that you know what types of user roles are available in Wordpress, let's talk about how you can actually add these users to your site. A very important thing to note at this point, is that I only recommend adding users to your site, that you trust. With each user, you're essentially handing over the keys to your site, or at least portions of it. So be judicious about who you invite over. Let's go ahead and send some invitations. From the My Site link, look for the people module and then click Add. What we have on this screen is an area where you can either add Wordpress.com usernames, or emails of people you'd like to invite.
From there, you can select the role that you'd like them to have, and send an optional message in their invitation email. When you click the Send Invitation button, an email is sent to the people you listed, inviting them to your site. A couple of things to note here, you can invite up to 10 people at at time, but all those people, will have the same user role. In other words, you can't invite one person to be an editor, and another to be a follower, in the same invitation. You need to create separate ones. Once the person receives the invitation email, they'll need to accept the invitation, by clicking the link provided in that email.
If the recipient is not yet a Wordpress.com user, they'll be sent instructions on how to create an account. I'm gonna go ahead and invite another user to be a part of my blog. I'm gonna add my buddy Morton, and give him the editor role. From there, I'll enter a custom message, and hit Send Invitation. I can see a confirmation, that the invitation was sent. I can X out of that, to close it. So this is where you can invite users. Let's take a look at how you can manage users, once they've been added to your site.
Instead of clicking this Add button, next to people, I'm just gonna click on the word people. Here, we get an overview of everyone who has access to the site. First, you have your team, who is anyone with the ability to create content. So, contributors, authors, editors, and administrators. Next, we have followers, and email followers. Keep in mind, that if your site is public, anyone can visit your site, without being a follower. Being a follower, just means, that they're seeing your posts in their feed, or getting your posts via email.
So let's take a look at the team. I can see myself, and that I have that Admin role. I can also see that the person I invited to my site, Morton, has joined. It shows me their Wordpress.com username, their gravitar, and their user role. If I click through on the user, I have the option here to change his role, or to completely remove him from my site. If you opt to remove a user, that user will no longer have access to your site. But, any content they published on the site, will remain, and will still be attributed to them.
- Creating a WordPress.com account
- Updating your profile
- Importing content
- Publishing posts
- Applying categories and tags to posts
- Inserting images, videos, and other media
- Creating a new page
- Customizing your site with themes and widgets
- Managing users, notifications, and comments
- Using WordPress.com apps
- The limits of WordPress.com and the benefits of self-hosting