Ready to watch this entire course?
Become a member and get unlimited access to the entire skills library of over 4,900 courses, including more Business and personalized recommendations.Start Your Free Trial Now
- View Offline
- Customizing the Ribbon interface
- Using the new Backstage View
- Saving time with the Animation Painter
- Styling a presentation with themes and transitions
- Introducing new ways to work with video
- Using the enhanced photo editing features such as cropping, removing backgrounds, and artistic effects
- Broadcasting a presentation on the Web
- Merging, comparing, and collaborating on presentations
Skill Level Appropriate for all
PowerPoint 2010 offers a feature that's been available to us in Word and Excel for quite awhile, the ability to merge other documents in so we can see changes that others have made to our original file. For example, I've created our New Employee Orientation file that we see here. I've also sent it out to others in my department for their review, changes, and critique. One of those files has come back, and I've saved it in our Assets folder as New Employee Orientation with Modifications. I want to see their suggestions, merging it in with my original file, and have the option to approve and reject the changes that they're suggesting.
To do that from my original file, I'll go ahead and choose the Review tab, and then click on Compare. PowerPoint will ask me to find the file that I want to merge into my current presentation. So I'll switch back to my Assets folder, find the New Employee Orientation with Modifications; this is the file that was sent to me with their suggested changes. Select it and hit Merge. PowerPoint does a quick comparison between my original and the file that was sent in. You'll notice three major changes at this point, while you're in your Review process.
Throughout the screen, both on the thumbnails here and in the design area of your slides, you're going to see a variety of small icons. Every time you see one of these icons, you'll know that a change was made; something could have been added, deleted, or changed in some way. If you hover over the icon, you'll see who made the suggestion and what was changed. It's your job in the Review process to either approve or ignore their suggestion. You can Accept it or Reject it. The second thing you'll notice is the Reviewing pane on the right-hand side.
The Reviewing pane shows us the details of all changes that were suggested on the current slide, and overall in the presentation. For example, on this slide, you can see that the title was changed, and the content was changed. If I click on the Slides tab, the thumbnail here shows me how the reviewer wanted the slide to look. You'll see that they've changed the title to Self-Introductions, and they've rearranged some of the bullet points. I can see the picture of it here, or the details of their suggested changes here.
This still shows me my original content. I can choose, on a case-by-case basis, to either accept or reject these changes. There is a variety of ways to do this. Remember that these icons represent the changes. If I click, I can approve the changes here. I can accept all the changes. When I do that, every that they've changed is now imported into my file. Here, I'm going to ignore it. I'm not going to change it. You can see that this has a check mark, indicating that I've accepted their change.
This one still does not. We're going to leave this ignored for the time being. Back over here, you'll see that the Introductions change is not checked, but the content change is. Down below, in the bottom of the Reviewing pane, we have Presentation changes, changes to the overall presentation. It says that some slides have been moved around. If I click on it, I can see on the far left that this particular slide, Introductions, was moved after slide number 4 called Testimonial. If I want to keep that change, I can click in the box.
Now that I have done that, my file has been affected by that change. The third thing you'll see when you're in Reviewing mode is the actual Review tab. Available for us now are Accept and Reject buttons, the ability to move forward and backwards through changes that have been made, and finally, an End Review button. We'll come to that last. After I've gone through this particular slide, deciding whether or not to accept or reject each of my changes, I can move on to the Next. An easy way to do that is to hit the Next and Previous buttons.
We can go back and see there are a few more changes here, and here, and anywhere else. Here is a slide that has a variety of changes made to it. You can see that there are some formatting changes, some text deleted, some text inserted, and a few other things. If I want to accept all of these changes, again, I click there, or no, it's up to me. If I'm extremely confident about the person who suggested changes, I can accept everything that they have sent me by pulling down the Accept menu here. Pulling it down, I can accept the single change that I currently have selected, all changes on the slide, or every single change they've suggested for the entire presentation.
Likewise, I can pull down Reject and reject the current selection, every suggestion they've made for the slide, or every suggestion they've made for the presentation. Keep in mind that these two options will affect changes that I have already accepted or rejected. In other words, as you're merging in someone else's presentation, you're going to accept the changes that they've suggested, that you want to keep, and you will ignore, or reject, anything else. When you're completely finished with this process, and the only things left are those that you want to ignore or reject, you click End Review.
Clicking on End Review will merge in all of your accepted changes and throw away, or discard, anything that you've ignored, or rejected. Once you click Yes, that process is finished. At this point, you can now save your file, knowing that it has been merged in with the accepted, approved changes that were suggested to you by the other author. If you have additional files from other authors who've made suggested changes for you, you would repeat the process once per file for every single person who has made changes.