Ready to watch this entire course?
Become a member and get unlimited access to the entire skills library of over 4,800 courses, including more Business and personalized recommendations.Start Your Free Trial Now
- View Offline
- Customizing the Ribbon interface
- Using the new Backstage View
- Saving time with the Animation Painter
- Styling a presentation with themes and transitions
- Introducing new ways to work with video
- Using the enhanced photo editing features such as cropping, removing backgrounds, and artistic effects
- Broadcasting a presentation on the Web
- Merging, comparing, and collaborating on presentations
Skill Level Appropriate for all
A new version of Microsoft PowerPoint 2010 has the ability to collaborate with others in real time. Through the use of SharePoint server, we can save and open documents, and if two people are working on the same file at the same time, we'll be able to see those changes real time as they happen. Here, as I work on our Tale of Two Trees presentation, you can see in the lower left corner that at least two other people are working on the file. If I click on the button, I'll see myself and Simon, who is currently helping me. Simon has already made changes. In fact, if I look at this icon here, I can see that Simon is currently editing this slide.
I can't see his changes yet, but in the lower right-hand corner in the Status bar, I see that updates are currently available. If I click Save and then hit OK, I will see the changes that Simon has made. It looks like he has also made a few changes to slide number 3. Every time that I make changes, those changes are sent back to the SharePoint server. I don't need to hit Save every time I make a change, but whenever I do, the changes that he has made and the changes that I've made are automatically introduced to each other, saved back to both of us, and we can see the changes immediately. One more time. I'll go ahead and click on Updates Available, or press Save, or Ctrl+S. This time I'll show you that I can pull down the Save menu, and instead of saving my changes and refreshing with the changes that he has made, I can save and review.
In other words, this will put me into Review mode, showing me the changes that he's made, allowing me to either approve them or reject them. Let's go ahead and review his changes. As it shows on the right-hand side, here's a change that he's made, adding the words "Welcome to the company!" on a particular slide. This is a great new feature for PowerPoint 2010, allowing workers to collaborate on the same file at the same time, no matter where they are.
Sign up for a Premium Membership to download courses for Internet-free viewing.
Watch offline with your iOS, Android, or desktop app.Start Your Free Trial
After signing up, download the course here or from the iOS/Android App.