In this video, Sharon provides a brief introduction of what a external user is, and how they are different from an internal users when leveraging SharePoint Online for collaboration.
- [Teacher] External SharePoint Users are people outside of your company that you wish to allow access to your documents and SharePoint sites. An external user does not require an Office 365 license. These users are not employees but are typically vendors or customers. You may be wondering why you would need external users to access your internal SharePoint sites. In some cases, you may need to share documents with external users or collaborate with these external users. For example, I would allow external users access to a site I created to distribute course materials for a class.
You could also do something similar with board members or vendors. It's important to understand what external users can do in your SharePoint sites. External users can view and edit documents using Office Online. They can view site content as well as subsites of the collection that they have been given access to. External users can carry out tasks on the site if you have delegated permission to do so. For example, if you add an external user to the members group, they will have edit rights on the site.
Just as important to know what users can do, I think it's almost more important to understand what users cannot do. External users cannot edit their profiles, they cannot create personal sites, external users do not have a OneDrive for business, they can't administer a site collection, or add storage to the tenant. They cannot see the company newsfeed, external users cannot use eDiscovery, or search everything, or access site mailboxes. And if a document has information rights management applied to it, they will be unable to open the document and they do not have access to PowerBi features.
Now that we understand what our external users can and cannot do, we can now decide how to share information. You will need to enable sharing both at the tenant level and then again at the site collection level. By default, sharing is disabled for the entire tenant. Site collection settings cannot be less restrictive than the global settings. For example, sharing is allowed using authenticated users only as the site collection level, sharing would be equal or less to the global sharing level.
In this example, you would not be able to share at the site level using anonymous links since only authenticated users are allowed at that tenant level. Take the time to understand the sharing levels and how your site collections will be accessed based on your choices.
- Configuring site collections
- Managing access of internal and external users
- Sharing data
- Adding site collection admins
- Assigning resources
- Configuring Yammer
- Implementing Office 365 video
- Setting up coauthoring and versioning
- Configuring groups
- Accessing and migrating OneDrive files
- Implementing enterprise eDiscovery
- Using Delve
- Configuring data loss protection