You may find people in your search results where you cannot see their name or profile photo. When you view their profile page, you see a very limited set of information. If somebody is outside of your network, you are not able to see their entire profile. However, there is a way to unlock a small amount of out-of-network profiles.
- [Voiceover] If you've been following along with me or doing some of your own searches, you may have run across something like this. I have a list of search results from LeadBuilder, and if I scroll down a bit here, I have some people on this list where I cannot see their name or their profile photo. And if I were to click on where their name would have been, right here where it says LinkedIn Member, I get just a very limited version of their profile page with very little information. That's because this person is outside of my network.
Your network, in this context, is defined by people that you're connected with on LinkedIn. Though even if you're not directly connected with somebody on LinkedIn, they may still be in your network. Let's back up to that search results page again to see something here. Now a first degree connection is somebody who you are connected to directly on LinkedIn. And I can see that here, as a matter of fact. One of these people, the first one on this list, is a first degree connection to me. I can see it says it right there, has a little notation there where it says first.
That means this person and I have connected on LinkedIn. I sent a connection request to her, she approved that connection request, and now we are connected. A second degree connection is somebody who is connected to a person that you are also connected to. So I can see I have a few second degree connections here. And that kind of makes sense, because each of these three people are probably connected to her, the person that I have a first degree connection to. It makes sense because they work at the same company.
And the degrees go on and on from there. Now any person who is a first, second or third degree connection to you is considered in your network. Everybody else is out of your network. Unless they have their privacy settings wide open, you're not gonna see their profile. Traditionally the people that you see on the normal LinkedIn platform are people in your network, which is a pretty small percentage of the entire LinkedIn network. But on Sales Navigator you can see everyone.
But if somebody is outside of your network you won't see their whole profile. And that's where we get something like this. So let's click on one of these people again, and we're back on that very limited profile page. One benefit of Sales Navigator is that you have a monthly amount of unlock credits for out of network profiles. So if I was feeling pretty confident that this would be a valuable lead, I could spend one of my 25 out of network unlock credits. I would just have to hit this button here that says Unlock full profile.
So I'll do that. And now I can see this user's full profile. Once that profile is unlocked, it's unlocked forever for me, even when my out of network credits refresh next month. So now I can see this person's full profile, and later when we talk about saving people as leads I'll be able to add this person as a lead if I want. And if I do spend all 25 of my unlock credits, I'll get another 25 credits next month. So if you run into users who are outside of your network, you have a way of accessing their information, but there are still some limitations.
- Setting up Sales Navigator
- Finding new leads with Lead Builder
- Saving Lead Builder searches
- Using updates and suggestions
- Viewing LinkedIn profiles
- Making introductions via shared connections
- Using InMail to reach contacts
- Using the Sale Navigator mobile app