Join Justin Seeley for an in-depth discussion in this video Adjusting your privacy settings on LinkedIn, part of Up and Running with LinkedIn.
- Earlier in this course we took a brief look at the settings for your account on LinkedIn. However, in this movie, we're going to go in a little bit deeper and take a look at the privacy controls that you have the ability to set. In order to access the privacy controls go up to the top right hand corner and go down to Privacy & Settings, and click Manage. LinkedIn may ask you to sign in again, and if it does, just go ahead and enter in your username and password again. And then what you're going to do is scroll down here to the Profile section and look at Privacy Controls. The first option is turn on and off your activity broadcast. By having this box checked your letting people know when you change your profile, make recommendations, or follow other companies.
It says on this dialog box that you may want to turn this option off if you're looking for a job and don't want your present employer to see that you're updating your profile. So, if you are actively looking for a new job and you already have one, you may want to go ahead and uncheck that box. Once you uncheck that box, simply hit Save Changes and those changes are now in place. Select who can see your activity feed. This means that your activity feed displays actions you've performed on LinkedIn. So you can select who can see that activity, either your connections, your network, everyone, or only you. In this case, I think it's safe to say that your connections or your network would be the best choices.
If you have everyone on this list that means everybody, including everybody in the public, can see everything that you're doing. If you limit it to only you, it might look like you're not really doing a whole lot on the network. So in this case, I'm going to leave it on my connections, and hit Save Changes. Select what others see when you've viewed their profile. This is a big one, because basically, when you view someone else's profile, they're going to know it, using the people who have viewed your profile section which we've already talked about. And so, you may want to limit some of the information that comes through when people see that. So the first option that's checked automatically is something that just shows who you are, your name, where you're from, and what you do.
This is everything about you. Now it recommends that you use this option at the top but if you'd like a little bit more anonymity, you can choose the second option. And basically, it says that selecting this option will disable Profile Stats. Whenever you switch to anonymous your viewer history gets erased. And if you're not sure what Profile Stats are you can click on that and it's going to take you to this section where you are able to view, who's viewed your profile. So that means if you turn that off you won't be able to see who's viewing your profile, pretty interesting. So, when I click this again, if I choose this I'm giving up my ability to see my own Profile Stats.
Finally, at the bottom, you'll be totally anonymous. It says selecting this option will disable Profile Stats. Whenever you switch to anonymous, your viewer history gets erased. So I'm just going to leave this on, your name and headline, at the top and hit Save Changes. If you would like to be more anonymous on LinkedIn you can certainly change to one of those other options. But just be aware that you're giving up that people who have viewed your profile accessibility. You can also turn on or off How You Rank. So you can see, let others see how you rank and compare it to your connections or colleagues in terms of profile views. If you don't want people to see that just uncheck that box and hit Save.
You can select, who can see your connections by checking this box and choosing either your connections or only you. It tells you here that you can select who can see your list of connections. People will still be able to see connections who endorse you and connections they share with you. If you don't want your endorsements visible just choose to opt out. In this case, I'm going to leave it on my connections and hit Save Changes. Also, you can choose who can follow your updates. Choosing everyone, let's people outside your network follow your public updates. So that means when you post something like a post, as we talked about earlier, or a status update if you target that to everyone, then everyone will be able to see it.
You can also limit it to only your connections. It really depends on what type of persona you're trying to portray on LinkedIn. In this case, I'll leave it on Everyone and hit Save Changes. Then let's go down to, change your profile photo & visibility. When I click on that it's going to take me to my profile photo where I'm able to make changes to that. I can also change the profile photo visibility, here at the bottom, by selecting things like My Connections, My Network, or Everyone. We covered this a little bit earlier when we were talking about setting up your profile photo. I can hit Escape to get out of there and then I'll just hit the Back button, in my browser, to go back to the screen.
Now let's go into the Show/hide "Viewers of this profile also viewed" box. Basically this is going to determine whether or not you see a box that says, "Viewers of this profile also viewed" on your Profile page. So that means when someone comes to your Profile page they can see everyone else that someone who has come to your Profile page has viewed. So let's say that somebody comes and views my Profile and two of my colleague's Profiles then somebody else coming to that page might see, "Oh, okay, they went to this guy's Profile "and also these other Profiles." It makes it easier for people to find more like-minded folks like you.
It's also a great way for people to find other people for candidacies for jobs. So you might want to think about turning that off. It's just totally up to you. And hit Save Changes there, to commit to that. And then finally, manage who you are blocking, down here at the bottom. If you block people on LinkedIn for abuse you can see who you're blocking here. In this case, though, we don't have anybody blocked so we don't have to worry about that. Over on the right hand side there are some frequently asked questions about blocking and unblocking people. I highly recommend that you read through this so that you have a firm grasp on what that process is all about and how you would go about doing it.
Let's click the Back button one more time. And the last option here, manage who can discover you by your phone number. The reason I'm not going to dive in deep on that is we haven't added a phone number to our Profile so we don't have to worry about that. I'm not sure why you would add your phone number to your LinkedIn Profile, but if you do, this is where you can manage who can find you by your Profile. So there are all of the basic privacy settings that are available to you on LinkedIn. There's not a whole lot of personal information that's being added onto your LinkedIn Profile anyway, nothing that you wouldn't want in a public facing resume, anyway. So, I really don't see that there's that much of a privacy risk.
However, there are some sections of this that I highly recommend that you check out. And hopefully, now you have a better understanding of why you might want to turn on or off some of these options.
- What makes a LinkedIn profile stand out?
- Adding work experience and education to your profile
- Finding and adding contacts
- Sending messages
- Sharing status updates and content from the web
- Asking for, and providing, recommendations
- Interacting with companies
- Finding a job on LinkedIn
- Starting and growing a group
- Managing your account