In this video, Jess Stratton shows users how to share a private iCal link, and how to reset the link if it ever needs to be revoked or it gets compromised.
- [Instructor] I talked about how you can share out your calendar to another Google user, and how you can subscribe to another non-Google account's ICS calendar. You can share your calendar out in much the same way. You can give it to somebody else who's not using Google, as an iCal format, so that they can subscribe to it and to see your events. To do that, first chose the calendar that you want to give access to. Now you'll notice that sometimes to go into Settings, I'm clicking this gear icon, I'm choosing Settings, and I'm coming directly into the calendar.
Other times, I'm hovering my mouse over the calendar itself, clicking the three dots, and choosing Settings and sharing. These two links take me to the exact same place, so I just wanted to be clear on that. You can go whichever one you find easier. The important thing is, is that once you're here, in the right calendar Setting, click integrate calendar on the left hand side. It's going to take me to an area where I can see a bunch of links for my calendar.
The one I'm interested in is the one that says Secret address in iCal format. This is going to bring up a very private link to get your calendar in that ICS format we're talking about. If I move my mouse all the way over to the end here, you can see that it ends in a final extension of dot ics. Now you can right or secondary click, choose Copy, and give somebody else this address. You can copy and paste and give that URL to another family member so that they can subscribe to your calendar.
Now this calendar is indeed a very private URL. Somebody who has this link can subscribe to your calendar, they can see the title of all your events, and the details of events, so you'll want to use this very, very sparingly, as you're giving somebody else access to view your calendar and you need to be able to trust that they won't share it around. However, if the situation ever changes, and you want to revoke access to that or you found that this URL has been shared, you can come back in here and click this button that says RESET.
It's going to prompt you, then it is going to invalidate any existing secret addresses. I'll click the RESET button again, and the link is going to change. What this does is give you a brand new URL to subscribe to your calendar and it renders the old one useless. So even if somebody has that old link and clicks on it, they won't be able to have access to your calendar anymore, unless they have this new one that was just generated. So all you need to do is not share this one out and then you'll be all set. And that's how I can share my calendar with somebody who's not using Google.
- Navigating Google Calendar
- Creating events, including all-day and repeating events
- Inviting guests
- Adding rooms and resources
- Responding to invitations
- Creating secondary calendars
- Sharing calendars
- Searching for events
- Working with the Google Calendar mobile app