Join David Rivers for an in-depth discussion in this video Sharing notebooks via the Evernote website, part of Up and Running with Evernote (2015).
- Just as we can share individual notes, like we did in the previous movie with individuals or groups of people, we can also share entire notebooks. We can do it through a Work Chat or there are some other options we're going to explore right now. And you may recall, if you're following along at the very beginning of this course, I decided I would create a new notebook called Temp. The Temp notebook, I said, would be a good place to put things that we might want to share with people. So, in this case, what we would actually do is share the entire notebook with people and then pick and choose what we put into this notebook.
Anything we put there would be accessible. Anything we take out would not. Now, before we can share a notebook, there has to be something in it. So, let's go back to the dropdown and we'll go to All Notes. And we'll find a note that we might want to share with people. I'm gonna right-click my Movies note. And instead of moving it into the notebook, I'm gonna Copy it to the Notebook. The notebook that I want to copy to is Temp. So, I select it and choose Copy. All right now when we click the dropdown at the top of our snippet list and select Temp, we see there's actually one note in there.
And we can have several notes in here. We're about to share the entire notebook. There is a Sharing icon at the very top of the snippet list. And this is going to open up another Work Chat like we saw when sharing individual notes. Give it a click. There it is. You can see down below, that people will be able to look at the notebook edit and invite, even, unless we change the permissions. But let's close this up and try another option. We'll go up to the Note menu. Go down to More Sharing. On a Windows PC it just says Share and you won't be able to share an entire notebook from here.
And from this side menu, we can Share a Notebook. You will see a message that you're about to share the notebook containing X number of notes. In this case, only one. Any users who join this notebook are always going to be able to view the notes within it. Joining notebooks means it actually appears as one of the notebooks you can access along with your own. So, let's click OK. And now it's just a matter of inviting people. Again, the Work Chat window opens up. And if you want to send an email to someone, well, you could do it right from here.
It also sends them a chat, an instant message, if they're in Evernote. So, I'm gonna send it to this Karen Leslie person at Gmail. I'm gonna leave the message down below which is "Take a look at this notebook." And I'm gonna change the permissions to viewing only. Click Send and off goes that message to Karen Leslie. All right, if we switch over to Karen Leslie's email, eventually we'll see an email arrive indicating that there is a Work Chat.
And we're gonna switch over to her account. And, sure enough, there it is in Work Chat, "Take a look at this notebook." And you can see the original chat with the individual note. But there's the notebook. And clicking it here is going to allow me to check it out. "This shared notebook will be available when the sync is complete." So synchronizing the notebook. It might happen. You don't have to see that message every time. You can click OK. And you can see it's a Read-only Access to it. But there it is, my Movies note, that I have in the Temp notebook that is being shared.
Now anything I add to my Temp notebook will appear here to people who have access to the notebook. If they want to be able to edit things, they can even Request Editing Rights directly from here. All right, I'm gonna switch back now to my own Work Chat. Close that up. And, if I was to remove this, obviously, they would no longer have access to it because it would not be in the Shared Notebook. Now when it's time to change up the sharing permissions, I can go back to Note, down to More Sharing here.
It's just Sharing in a Windows PC. And Manage Notebook Permissions. So from here, you see I can change it. Maybe they can edit or maybe even edit and invite people to have access to it. I can save those changes. But eventually, when I remove them from the list. Notice I'm gonna be removing them and stop sharing Temp with that person when I click Stop sharing. All right, there we go. So, currently, you can see my permissions for the Temp notebook is still set up.
"Publish to create a public link to this notebook." If I click this, I can send the link out to people or I can just dismiss this knowing that no one has access to the content. So, I like the idea of having a notebook that's always going to be shared. I can pull things in and out of the notebook knowing that people have access to it, only so long as it's in there. But sharing a notebook is very similar to sharing an individual note. Of course, with many, many notes in a notebook, those people have the same permissions to the each of the notes in the notebook as opposed to an individual note.
- Creating a new notebook
- Creating and formatting text notes
- Adding screenshots to a note
- Creating a multimedia note
- Clipping web content to a note
- Creating notes from emails
- Sorting, filtering, and finding notes
- Sharing notes
- Protecting content with encryption