Watching:

Saving workspace layouts


show more Saving workspace layouts provides you with in-depth training on Web. Taught by Garrick Chow as part of the Dreamweaver CS3 Essential Training show less
please wait ...

Saving workspace layouts

In the previous movie, we saw how {italic}Dreamweaver{plain} gives you an incredible amount of freedom when it comes to being able to customize your panels and panel groups. We saw that you can do things like a strip out entire panel groups into their own floating windows. Or in some cases, we can grab out just the tabs of the panels, and drag them out on their own. Certain items you can't do that with. For instance, in Behaviors, I can't drag out that tab by itself, that has to come with Tag Inspector group. But I can do it with Files, I can do it with Assets, and Snippets, and so on. The point is, I can just go nuts and customize these as much as I want. I can group these together here, like so. But if you've spent all this time, and you've created all these panel groups, you probably want to make sure that you can get back to that particular set up anytime, even if somebody else uses your copy of {italic}Dreamweaver{plain} and they set up the panels the way they want.

It's very easy to do. All you have to do is go to the Window menu, go to Workspace Layout, and from here you can choose Save Current. And that allows you to name your current workspace. We'll just call this Garrick's workspace. Click OK. So now, even if I were to switch back to the Default layout, like so, I can always get back to my Garrick's workspace, just by selecting from the menu here. And there it is. That's how easy it is. Anytime anybody may come in here and just mess up my entire panel layout, like so, I come back and find it looking something like this, no problem, just come in back into Workspace Layout, and choose Garrick's workspace. And you can have as many of these custom workspaces as you like. If you use one particular workspace for one website, and a different layout for different site, you can just save as many as you like. If you find you're starting to have too many workspaces, or there are some workspaces that you've created that you just don't use anymore, come in here to Workspace Layout, and choose Manage. And in here you'll find all the custom layouts that you might have created. You can select them, and choose to either rename them, or just delete them. But once they're deleted, they really are gone. So notice that there's no more Garrick Layout in there. So we'll just switch that back to Default. But that's how you save custom workspaces in {italic}Dreamweaver.{plain} Probably a pretty important step, if you spend a lot of time customizing your workspace. You want to make sure that you don't have to manually reset your panels to your preferred locations every single time you open up {italic}Dreamweaver.{plain}

Saving workspace layouts
Video duration: 2m 21s 10h 21m Beginner

Viewers:

Saving workspace layouts provides you with in-depth training on Web. Taught by Garrick Chow as part of the Dreamweaver CS3 Essential Training

Subject:
Web
Software:
Dreamweaver
Author:
please wait ...