Join Lynda.com Staff for an in-depth discussion in this video Resending the welcome email, part of How to Manage Your Lynda.com Account as an Administrator.
- The quickest way to send an e-mail to a user, is by using the Quick-edit option. First, select a user's name and choose the Quick-edit option; the little envelope icon. You'll see that here, this envelope icon is white and it says Resend welcome e-mail. That means that this user is not actually registered for their lynda.com account yet, indicated by the word never, shown in the Last Login column. None of the users in this example have registered their accounts yet. But once they do, it will be indicated by a date showing here, in the Last Login column.
At that point, the white envelope icon and the Quick-edit options will turn gray, and you will then have the option to select it and e-mail that user directly from the Quick-edit options. The custom e-mail feature is not available to accounts using single sign-on as often times e-mail is not passed as part of their authentication. When a new user is added to your account, they will automatically be sent a registration welcome e-mail with a link for setting up their lynda.com profile and password. That link will expire after seven days, so if you need to resend the welcome e-mail, you can do so by selecting the Resend welcome e-mail Quick-edit option and this little window will pop up.
Click the Resend welcome e-mail to confirm. You can also resend a welcome e-mail to multiple users at once by clicking on those user's names, and going to Manage Users and selecting Resend welcome e-mail. Now, when the window pops up, you have a whole list of users and you can choose to resend the welcome e-mail by clicking this button to confirm. This is a nice and easy feature you can use to make sure all of your users are sent the welcome e-mail, with the registration instructions, even if they missed that seven day window with the first e-mail that went out.
Please note, depending on the authentication method your organization chose at configuration, your users might have a different registration flow available to them. Contact client services for more details.