Join Tim Grey for an in-depth discussion in this video View options, part of Bridge CS6 for Photographers.
In addition to the basic layout options in Adobe Bridge, for example, the ability to move panels around and save the arrangement as a work space. There are also some additional view settings that you might want to take advantage of. On the View menu you'll find a variety of options. The first set of options are view modes, which you might use for cycling through various images as you're deciding on a favorite, for example. But let's focus our attention on the ways we can change the overall Bridge interface. First, we have compact mode. If you choose compact mode, that will essentially create a much smaller version of Bridge.
This is most useful when you need to drag images from Bridge into another application for example. So, not something that most photographers are likely to make use of, but something that you might find helpful from time to time. You can also switch into or out of this view by pressing Ctrl + Enter on Windows or Cmd + Enter on Macintosh. Next on the View menu, we have the Option to view the images as thumbnails, as details, or as a list. I have the As Thumbnails option selected, and so you can see on the Content panel all the images are presented as thumbnails.
I'll go ahead and switch to the Essentials view, because that includes a larger Content panel. And then I'll choose View As Details from the menu, and we can see quite a bit more information about each photo. Of course, we're not seeing as many photos, but we get a lot more information about each individual photo in this view. We can also choose As List, which gives us much smaller thumbnails and some additional details about the photos. And one of the nice things about the List view is that we're able to sort images by a variety of criteria, very quickly and easily just by clicking on the header above each column. I'll go ahead and switch back to the As Thumbnails view, so that we can see all of our thumbnails, and take a look at some other options. Notice that in this view, it's possible depending upon the thumbnails size that some of the thumbnails will be cut off.
You can see that this bottom row of images, we're only able to see maybe about half of each photo. If we go to the View menu, you will also see that we have an option called Gridlock. And that will lock the images into a grid where none of the photos will be cut off. And this can obviously be helpful as you're reviewing your images, making sure that you're always able to see all of the images that are presented on the page. Of course, if you scroll then you will be able to cut off those images again. But the idea is that if you scroll to just the right position, you'll always be able to see the entirety of each image. And so for example, if I select an image and then use the arrow keys to navigate among them, I will be moving row by row in this case. I will go ahead and turn off the Gridlock feature for now. We also have some options for showing our hiding particular types of files. By default, rejected files, those to which we have assigned a reject flag are still shown.
They are still be visible, they will just have a reject flag indicating that presumably it's an image that we won't be using. But we can turn that option off if we do not want to show rejected images. So as soon as you mark an image as rejected, it will effectively disappear unless you turn on the Show Reject Files option again. You can also turn on the Show Hidden Files option if you want, but in most cases this is not going to be all that helpful. In general, the images that you're actually working with are not going to be hidden. Hidden files are typically system files for example.
And so, in most cases, you don't need to see hidden files, but if you're concerned that any images are hidden, for example, you can certainly turn on that option. You also have the option to display folders, and so for example, if I navigate to my desktop, you'll see that I'm able to view folders. If I turn off the Show Folders view, then folders will not be presented, only actual documents or images will be presented. In most cases, I like to have the Show Folders option turned on, because it makes it a little bit easier to navigate among the various folders that I might look at. And then we also have an option to display items that are included in subfolders.
So if you turn on Show Items from Subfolders, any photos contained within sub-folders of the currently selected folder will also be displayed. Generally, I prefer to leave this option turned off, simply because it can get a little bit confusing if you're browsing one folder and seeing images that are included in potentially multiple folders underneath. It's also helpful to know about the Refresh command. If at any time the interface doesn't seem to be updated, perhaps there's a window that didn't completely disappear. You can choose View > Refresh in order to refresh the overall Bridge interface. It will refresh the entire display that you see here. There are a couple other helpful options.
One is the ability to adjust the thumbnail size using a slider down on the status bar. We can drag to the right to increase the size of our thumbnails, or to the left to reduce the size of those thumbnails. This only impacts the Content panel. And in most cases you'll use thumbnail displays on the Content panel, and then view a larger display on the Preview panel. So for example, if I switch to my image review workspace, you'll see that I have a relatively large preview, and I can adjust the size of the thumbnails as I see fit. We can also choose, if we want to see the path bar up at the top of the interface, its essentially part of the toolbar.
It will show the path of the folder that we're currently browsing, but there are also some additional controls over at the top right. And one of the items that might be helpful is to use the option to browse quickly by preferring embedded images. What that means is that Bridge will not generate previews for all of your raw captures, instead using the JPEG preview that is embedded inside of that image. Now this accomplishes two basic things, one it can help you browse faster because Bridge doesn't need to work on generating those previews while you're going through your images.
But also, it will show you the embedded JPEG preview as it was created by your camera. And so for example, if you had your camera set to create black and white images, but you're capturing in the raw mode, then your not actually producing a black and white image. The raw photo itself will appear in color because raw captures ignore most of those in camera settings, but the embedded JPEG image will be black and white. So if you use some of the settings in your camera in order to change the appearance of the photos. You may want to turn this option on, so that you'll be able to view the embedded JPEG preview images in your raw captures. But as you can see, there are a variety of different options that allow you to adjust the display of your images within Bridge.
In many cases these are just a matter of personal preference, but sometimes they can have a significant impact on your overall workflow.
- Downloading images
- Bridge and Camera Raw preferences
- Sorting and rotating images
- Basic image review
- Ratings and labels
- Working with metadata
- Adding keywords
- Using collections
- Processing and sharing images