Learn how to remove the Azure DevTest Lab and associated resource group, ensuring that unused resources are not consumed or billed.
- [Instructor] After your users have finished with their DevTest Lab, you can simply delete it. In order to do so, you'll log into your DevTest Lab, and you'll come up and click delete. You need to enter in the name of the lab and please note the warning up at the top. "Deleting this is irreversible." There's no recycle bin here. Once it's done, it's done. But this will delete all of those virtual machines. I'm gonna go ahead and click delete, and this will take a few moments for that DevTest Lab to be deleted.
The last thing I'd like to point out here is that yes, this deleted the DevTest Lab, but it did not delete the resources associated in that resource group for that DevTest Lab. I would now like to delete the resources and the resource group. To do so, I'm going to click on resource groups and I'm going to locate our DevTest Labs. As you can see, I have a couple of resource groups. We are looking specifically for LILRG818751, that was the name of the resource group that was created when we created our DevTest Labs.
I'm gonna pop in, and you'll notice here that there is our DevTest Lab but you will also notice that we have a bunch of additional resources here. There's our data disk that we attached to one of our virtual machines. We have our virtual machines, we have our key vaults, and we have some additional storage. You will still be billed for these resources even though you have deleted the lab. You may also want to delete this resource group as well. To do so, all you'll do is click on delete.
You'll need to enter in the resource group name. I just like to do a copy paste. Once it's verified, you can go ahead and click delete. If you try to delete the resource group before the DevTest Lab environment has been deleted, you will have an error, as you saw mine pop up. You'll have to wait until the DevTest Lab environment is deleted before the resource group can then be deleted. It's probably a good idea to delete the lab and the resource group when you're finished with them, that way you're insuring that you're not being charged for resources that you are no longer using.
- Configure DevTest
- Create the Azure DevTest Lab
- Create a DevTest Lab virtual machine
- Set policies, users, and schedules
- Configure and create virtual machine bases
- Remove Azure DevTest Lab