Save for users with older versions Print Production


show more Saving for users with older versions provides you with in-depth training on Design. Taught by Claudia McCue as part of the Print Production Fundamentals show less
please wait ...

Saving for users with older versions

You may be collaborating with people who are using older versions of Illustrator, so you need to know how safe is it to save back to earlier versions. This has been created in CS6. So if I choose File > Save As and I'll just put this on my desktop. When I click Save, I'm given the option to choose a version. Multiple artboards came in at CS4. So if you saved for a version earlier than CS4, you are not going to have multiple artboards anymore. Transparency came in at Illustrator 9, so if you saved at Illustrator 8, you'll lose transparency.

All of your objects will still be there but they'll be opaque or all your little shadows will be embedded images. Keep in mind that when you go back in the past, you are going to lose some editability. It's best if you keep files in their native habitat. If you're using CS6, it's the best of all worlds if you collaborate with people who are also using CS6. There's not a huge danger in going back to CS5, but there are some...

Saving for users with older versions
Video duration: 3m 2s 4h 27m Beginner

Viewers:

Saving for users with older versions provides you with in-depth training on Design. Taught by Claudia McCue as part of the Print Production Fundamentals

please wait ...