Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
Collaboration during script writing is a given. You're most always going to be sharing your document as you create it with other folks, like the director or the producer or sponsors, other writers, what have you. And even during production while you're shooting your script you're probably going to change it, rewrites are just a given in this industry. So you want to have some way to collaborate, and Story Plus and Story Free lets you do that pretty well. Story Plus is kind of the hub of the production process. You can share from Story Plus to somebody else whether they have Story Plus or Story Free, but if you have Story Free, you can't share from that, you're a recipient of a document rather than a provider of a document.
So that's kind of the process, Plus is in the middle, and the Free is kind of out there on the spokes. So to make sure we're on the same page here, what I want you to do is to import another document, import an edited version of this Castles document we've been working on. So to do that, just have your Test project open--or whatever project you want to work in open--and go to Import. If you have this document, if you're a lynda.com premium member, then go up to our Exercise files, and I want you to bring in Castles_script.stdoc, ST doc is a Story document that can be opened up inside story.
The ASTX version is something you'll open up inside Premiere Pro, and the FDR is the Final Draft version that we'll be working with all along. So we're going to go back here and open up the Story doc version, the one we've edited here, double-click on that, that will import the Story doc, and then we're going to be on the same page here. Now one difference that you might see versus what we see here is that you might see little blue circles here indicating that these sets or these characters have not been added to your set or character list. They won't show up here because we've created those set lists here or those character lists here, but they might show up on your side of things because you don't have the same set and character list, but nevertheless, the text should be the same.
And what I want to do is I want to share this document with somebody else, or with me. I am going to share with myself on a different account just to show you how that works. So let me show you that. We'll just go up to the Project side of things and click on Share right there, and then you have the choice of all these email addresses here for folks who you might be working with. You can add somebody here as well, and then you have the choice of having it be the Co-Author, Reviewer, or Reader. You can't be more than one of them, check one, and it unchecks the other, see how that works? Co-Author means that you can edit, delete, modify content, but you can't delete the original document, only the original author can delete that document.
And while one person is working on a document, editing a document, the other person cannot do it until you save a document. The other person has to sit there and kind of wait for you to save it, in case you guys are working in real-time on something. One person needs to save pretty regularly so the other person can work on it. Nevertheless, that's how that works. Co-authors basically have the same kind of control over the document with the exception that the original author is the only one who can delete the document entirely. The other thing that a Co-Author can do is add comments. So if you want to put comments in the document, not really change it, to saying do you really want to have this paragraph here or maybe you should do this, that kind of a comment, that's fine. They can do that as well.
A Reviewer can read the document but can't change it but can add comments, so that's the level for reviewer. And a Reader cannot see any comments but can only read the script, can't make any changes. And if they want to offer up any changes they'll probably just phone you or email you or something like that to say why don't you do this? But they cannot make any changes or add any comments. So I'm going to add myself as the Co-Author here. I'm going to send a little email notification like this and click OK. And now I'm going to go to the Story inside my Browser--Story Free runs inside the Browser and Story Plus can run on your Desktop. Let me go over to the Browser.
Now because I have not worked on this session of Story Free in the Browser for half an hour, it's automatically locked. No big deal, I just need to unlock it like this. And right off the bat I've got a little message here saying something's going on, some kind of a notification came. When I click that it says Jeff has shared this project with you as a Co-Author, and you can accept or not. I'll accept it. That automatically opens it up as a project, and this is the script that we just imported, and these are the two bios that are part of the project.
Great! And now I can work on this and make some changes, but before I do that, let me go back to the Desktop application, the Story Plus application, and that has a little note here saying Jeff has accepted the shared project. And if you get a whole bunch of notifications here, after a while this can get a little tedious to kind of scroll down the page, so you can click on See All Notifications, like that, and then you can delete them one at a time or delete all them at once. So yeah, we'll delete them. There we go. And we get out of the Notifications page by clicking on Projects. So let's say we go to the Script.
Now I'm going to make a change. I want to say instead of swells, I'll just say grows, like that, and let's not get it uppercase like that. And notice in the bottom it says I am Editing. Let me go back to the Browser View, the Story Free view, and I'll look up the script here, and it says Jeff is Editing, so right now it's locked. I can't make any changes. If I try to click in here and say let's change this to grows, not going to happen. Don't do anything. It's temporarily locked, sorry. Okay, I'll click X there. We can't do it.
Let me go back to the Desktop application, the Story Plus application, and I will say Save Now, all right. And now it's not being edited at this moment, but it's being shared by two users. Go back to the Browser, and now I can change it to say, no, no, no, grows is wrong thing. Just say gets larger, something like that, and say Save Now. This should return off in a second. Let's see here. There we go.
Now I go back to the Desktop Story Plus application. Here we are, and it just says Shared Document, and there it has the change that we just made, that fast, back and forth like that. Now if you want to change the status of someone you're collaborating with, you can do that-- and in light of the scintillating dialogue that's been written here, let me change this guy's status. So to do that, I'm going to go to Projects and go over here to Share, and right now that guy is a co- author, but you know, let's move him to Reviewer.
Now he can make comments, but he can't make changes. And if I want to add somebody now, too, I can add someone here and then go through the same process to add someone to this project. So that is how you set up your project for collaboration.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
110 Video lessons · 56401 Viewers
93 Video lessons · 20925 Viewers
79 Video lessons · 18250 Viewers
350 Video lessons · 103738 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.