Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
Let's take a few minutes to talk about the ways you can share a Google Sheets file with other users. Before we walk through the process of sharing a spreadsheet file, let's make sure we understand some terms. There are four types of access in Google Sheets. I'll click the Share button in the upper right to show you these types. There's Private, which means only you can access. There's Sharing with specific people, which means only the email addresses you specify can access the spreadsheet. There's Sharing with anyone with link, which means anyone who has the link can access it without signing into Google.
There's Sharing public on the web, which means that anyone on the internet can find or access your spreadsheet without signing in to Google. I'll cancel this, and let's walk through the process of sharing a spreadsheet with specific people. In many situations, you'll want to just share a document with a few people, and you won't want to share it on the web. In Google Sheets, the users that you shared the spreadsheet with are called collaborators, whether they have viewing, commenting or editing privileges.
To share a spreadsheet with another person, start by opening the spreadsheet document. I'll show you how with this kinetECO Solar System spreadsheet. Click the blue Share button in the upper right corner. The sharing settings dialogue box will pop up. You can see in this pop up that the visibility setting of this spreadsheet is set to private. Any spreadsheet you create will start out with its visibility set to private. To share with specific people, type in the email addresses of people you want to share with. In this box below, invite people. Now you can enter any email address, but Gmail addresses will make the process easiest for the collaborator because they'll be able to access the file immediately.
I'll add the email addresses of a couple of my colleagues here. Next, select their permission levels. Use this drop-down. If you'd like them to have editing privileges on the spreadsheet, leave the setting as Can edit. Editors will also be allowed to share the document with others. If you'd like them to be able to comment but not edit the spreadsheet, select Can comment from the drop-down. If you only want them to be able to view the document, select Can view. You can always change these sharing settings later. I'll keep these settings as Can edit so that the collaborators can edit my spreadsheet.
Keep in mind that when you share with specific people, in order to view or edit the spreadsheet, the user you're sharing with will need to sign in with their Google account. Or create a Google account if they don't already have one. If you want Google to send them an email notification, leave this Notify people via email check box checked. You can click Add message to add a custom message to the collaborators. I'll add a quick note here. Note that when Google sends this email, they'll send a link to the shared file. It will not be an email attachment.
You can also send a copy of the email to yourself by checking this Send a copy to myself check box. I'll do that. When you've completed the sharing settings, click this blue Send button in the bottom left corner to send an email with a link to the document to all collaborators. You'll notice that the Sharing settings dialogue box is still open after you send the email. And now the collaborators will be added to the list. If everything is set as you wanted, click this Done button to return to your spreadsheet. If you need to change levels of access, select the drop-down next to the user's name.
I'll change Simon's permissions so that he just has view permissions. If you need to remove a collaborator, select the X next to the user's name. When you've completed your changes click the Save Changes button at the bottom left, and click the Done button to return to your spreadsheet. Let's talk about a few special cases with sharing with specific people. First, if you want to share a file with someone who uses a non-Google account, they'll receive an invitation with a link prompting them to sign in or sign up for a Google account to be able to view or edit the file.
This link will be valid for 14 days. Also, you can share an item with an email mailing list. However, each user on the mailing list will need a Google account to sign into Google and see the spreadsheet in their Google Drive. Now, there are limits on how many people you can share the spreadsheet with. You can share with up to 200 email addresses, and a maximum of 50 people can make edits to the spreadsheet at the same time. If you want to share with a large group of people or if you want to share the spreadsheet with people who do not have Google accounts, consider changing the settings to anyone with a link.
I'll show you how to do that. Click the blue Share button in the upper right, and click Change to change your sharing settings. Select the radio button for Anyone with link. You can use this drop down to allow people to view, comment, or even edit the document without signing in to Google. Click Save, and you can share this document by just copying and sharing this link under link to share. Or using these quick link icons to share via Gmail, Google Plus, Facebook, or Twitter. If you click Change and change the visibility to public on the web, keep in mind that the spreadsheet will be searchable on the web.
I'm going to change back to sharing with specific people, and I'll click Save to save my changes. By sharing your spreadsheet, you can allow people to view, comment on, and edit your spreadsheet without managing multiple versions of the file, and without sending the file as a bulky email attachment.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
82 Video lessons · 76590 Viewers
80 Video lessons · 130792 Viewers
52 Video lessons · 64726 Viewers
59 Video lessons · 50553 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.