Viewers: in countries Watching now:
In Picasa 3 Essential Training, Dane Howard demonstrates how the latest upgrade of this free program from Google will allow photographers to organize, share, and edit digital photos more easily and effectively than ever before. Dane shows newcomers and experienced users how to archive and share photos from a desktop or online. Exercise files accompany the course, but using personal media is encouraged.
In the next topic I just want to touch on the idea of removing, deleting, showing, and hiding media within Picasa. We talked about the relationship between Picasa and the file structure itself and if you recall, you can click on any folder any time and it shows the data inside the file system, but here is the thing. You can go to any particular image. In this case, it's a bunch of food. So all of this image of the box that contains the food is less needed. So I want to remove it.
There are a couple of different things. I mean I could literally right- click and have a bunch of options here. If I hit Delete, it's going to remove it from disk. Deleting something where it's a good thing that it has you confirm it, because it's actually telling do you want to send the selected file to the Recycle bin. This is some recycle bin in Picasa. This is from disk. So when you hit Delete, you are removing this file from disk. It's gone. It's gone forever. I don't want to do that.
What I may want to do in this circumstance is hide it. When you hide something, it actually just removes it from view and you can see there is no confirmation there. Now let's go to the actual folder itself. You can see that the file is still there. So thank goodness, but what this does, they used to call this remove from Picasa. Well, hiding is something that they called it and you can do this to multiple photos or you can do to entire folders. So let's talk about that real quick. So I just did it within the context of the food, but let's say I want to take this other folder where I have these images where I connected the card and I right-click on the actual folder itself.
You can see here that it says Hide Folder. Well, something else comes up. The hidden folders is a way that you can essentially password protect or essentially control what is shown and hidden and what it does is something unique. I'm going to say No, because I'm not going to add a password right now, but what I can do is you can see that it removed it from the folders and it actually put it inside of this like hidden folders area. You can see that they kicked those right at the bottom. And the reason they do this is pretty straightforward, is that so you can remove certain folders as a way of cleaning up your primary way of looking at things and then you can cascade it and that goes way at the bottom here.
So you can have certain folders that are hidden. They are still on disk, you can see that they are not removed from the actual hard drive, but it just basically allows you to essentially remove certain folders within Picasa itself so that they are not tracked inside of the folders item. So something to remember. There is a difference between removing it, hiding it, and actually deleting it from disk. So keep that in mind as you navigate your folders and keep track of your media.
There are currently no FAQs about Picasa 3 Essential Training.
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.