Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
The next settings are very important, usually overlooked. They are called Privacy and Permissions, and they are located inside one of the tabs on your Global settings within Picasa Web Albums. Now let's take note here. There has been a lot of things that I have referenced to that relate to Privacy and Permissions and particularly when you are saving, uploading and sharing family photos, or those that are private photos, this is an important topic. Be mindful of each category and read through anything that you want as many times as necessary.
There is even really nice tutorials located underneath each category to give you more information. I'll try my best to explain everything in this particular tutorial. Name tags. Picasa 3.0 has added facial recognition to a lot of the functionality. This is really helpful in helping you understand who is in a particular photograph. It's a great piece of technology. What you want to be mindful of is how those tags are shared outside of your particular viewing world.
When I say that, if you have a public album, all these settings here as it relates to name tags that people are in my photos, if you don't want to use that, or if you want to in fact hide them, you can start to see the relationship between un-hide and hide. You can see that there is a cascading functionality there. If I hide my name tags in my public albums, this is really important, which means I'm not associating a particular name to the face, but it is helpful in my organizational tasks. The last one here is Hide name tags in my unlisted and sign-in required items.
It's somewhat of a preference in terms of, well, you are already offering some hidden functionality. So do you want to associate those names and faces? This is very critical, as you start to associate names with faces, and it associates with the privacy and visibility of your albums. Next, let's talk about location. Now the relationship between names and locations is very critical. If you are pretty liberal on the names, be very mindful of the locations, particularly if it involves family members, children, etcetera.
You can see here it automatically maps photos if they contain location data. Now this might be prominent on a particular mobile device, and you may or may not know that photos that are automatically going up to one of your web albums, may have a location associated with them. So be mindful of this. So it's okay to have location data associated with it. But the next one is interesting. Show my photo location to others. When this is checked, that's actually going to be most critical. You can see that my preference is that I don't want to show this.
So be very mindful of your rigidity between the names, faces and locations associated with this particular item. In conjunction with this, you have to think of these not only as individuals, but how they work together. The next one is Public search. Note this. Make my public album searchable. Even within a public album, they give you the choice here on whether or not this is searchable. Well, what does this mean? I have been pretty adamant about describing that much of your information can be indexed so that it can retrieved.
This is a tool for you, but it also is a tool for other people to find things. If I were to check this, you can see that it immediately brings up a toolbox here and it will let you know that everything is going to be in your public albums searchable. That means all of your data and everything that will be associated with that, location, captions, allow it to be searchable. Make sure that this is a preference that you want to enable. And this will be applied to all public albums, not specific ones.
So if you have sensitivities, you can change a public album into an unlisted or private album. The next one is Allow any visitor to order prints and download photos. Some people are totally fine with sharing their photos. I have a little bit more flexibility around this. I allow people and my family members to actually download them. It helps me out instead of them asking, hey, can I get copies of those?, I just direct them to the ability to order prints directly. So you can setup in the first part you permissions. Pretty straightforward.
And if you know those permissions are going to be setup to only be shared with family members, it's okay to allow them to order prints directly, or even download them. So be mindful of all these things working together. The Creative Commons is a new and up and coming attribution that's going around the web. If you ever want to learn a little bit more, you can find out more about it on the web. You can see it has a lot to do with reuse and there is copyright, there is remixing, there are different types of things you may want to put as attribution next to your images.
This all has to do with how you feel about the types of photos you are putting up there. So you can follow along here. You can see that I allow reuse and I allow remixing, but Require Share-Alike, but I don't allow commercial use here. So this is just based on my own comfort level. So I can't say this loud enough, just make sure you take good use of this understanding of Privacy and Permissions, because the extra time will pay off, because you will feel better about sharing, you'll feel better about your settings, and you know exactly what kind of comfort level you will be able to have putting your photos online.
Once you are done with all of this, go ahead and save changes and you will be done with the Privacy and Permissions settings, which is located right there.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
164 Video lessons · 54427 Viewers
64 Video lessons · 86351 Viewers
86 Video lessons · 55741 Viewers
148 Video lessons · 93100 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.