Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
When you share a notebook and collaborate with others, you've got multiple authors contributing to the same notebook. The occasion may arise when you need to go back to a previous version of a page, or at least see what that previous version was and decide whether or not you need to revert back to it. Well, OneNote 2010 does have a Page Versions tracking feature and we are going to take a look at it now using our TwoTrees12 notebook. You can see here I am on the User Conference tab or section, looking at the Conference Overview page.
Now this page appears to have another author who has made a contribution at this point. As I scroll down, it looks like the rest was done by me. But if we go up to the Share tab on the Ribbon, you will notice in the History group here we've got something known as Page Versions. Now if you just simply want to display the different page versions, you can click the top-half of this button. If you want to see the options, go to the lower-half and click the drop-down. Right at the top is the default page versions. So that's what will happen if you click the top-half of the button.
Let's give it a click. Well, over here on the right-hand side we see our Conference Overview and then as we go back, you can see we have got previous versions as well. When we go to a previous version, we will see highlighting showing us exactly what was contributed by the various people and anything that's changed. So in this case, you can see all these green highlighting showing us what's changed. Let's go back up here. It looks like Karen L made a simple change to one line. You also see this message across the top of the page. "This is an earlier version." It will be deleted over time and if you want to restore or delete this version, you just simply click the message across the top.
So let's give it a click and you will see a pop-up menu with several options. We can restore back to this version. We can delete this version, if we don't want it. We can even copy this page to another page. So we can create an actual page, not just a version of the page representing this previous version of our content. We can also delete all versions in this section or the entire notebook, if you wanted to. And if you don't want to track versions, Disable the History for This Notebook is there as well. And if you need to just simply hide it, keep it going but hide it, you have the opportunity at the very bottom of this menu to hide your page version.
You won't see them until you come back here and decide to show them again. But let's just delete this version and you can see what happens over here on the right-hand side. Here is our final version right in front of us and we have only got two different versions now that we can look at and at any time, we can revert back. This one, you can see it doesn't have a lot of information that's been added to it. If we go to the next version, there are a lot of content that's been added and this is our final version here and it looks like Karen Leslie is also presenting. We are going to go back to just David Rivers.
So let's go back to this one and at the top, we will click and choose Restore Version this time and it becomes the last version and a new older version is created and let's say we just want to get rid of all the old versions now in this section. We will go to the Page Versions drop-down and we will Delete All Versions in this section. We have to confirm that by clicking the Yes button and when we do, they are all gone and we are left with the latest. So Page Versioning is a great option to not only take a look at past versions of a page, but if you need to restore those versions, bringing you back to an older version that maybe was more accurate before changes were made.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.