Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
Another new feature of SharePoint 2013 is how easy it is to be able to share sites, documents and libraries with other users. So, for example; here we are in our inside No Obstacle site in a particular library. Now here's a SHARE link right here, when I point to it, it says, this Give people access to this site, and this is something that always is a little confusing to me, I'm in a library, but this is to share the entire site, that's true, if I click FOLLOW, I'm actually following this entire site.
So I'm going to click SHARE. And it says it's already shared with lots of people, I can click that link to see who lots of people are. And I can say, well, I'd actually like to share it with specific people. Notice that these are people who I'm allowing to edit this. My options are that I can select a group or permission level for people. And I could say, well, I would actually like them to be able to view only. Notice then that I'm inviting people only to view, or because I have a lot of permission here, I want to give them full control.
So that's not something I am going to do lightly. But the default here is Edit and I can either enter everyone, which is everyone who's in my site collection or I can enter names or email addresses. So if for example I wanted to enter Jaryl, there's Jaryl Leonard and I'd say, I'd like to invite Jaryl to be able to edit documents here. So that's the way I can share this entire site. If I want to share the library, then what I need to do is go to the ribbon, go to LIBRARY and notice that under my Settings I have a choice that's Shared With.
I can see who it's Shared With already, which includes everyone, Jaryl is not here because I actually didn't click to add her and this is how I would share a library. I click Invite People and now I'm sharing documents, not the whole site, just the library and it works exactly the same way. I can invite people to edit and enter names, email addresses of everyone or I can show options and I can choose a particular permission level that's based on the Library. When I was seeing permissions for the site, I was seeing group level permissions; here I am seen rules that are available to me in the library.
So I could say for example that I wanted to invite somebody only to read or I wanted to invite them to be able to contribute. When they edit, they can actually edit things that they didn't post, Contribute would allow them to be able to read and to post, but wouldn't allow them for example to delete something that you or I had contributed. And so for example, I can say I'd like Juan Ricardo to be able to contribute in this library and I would click Share. So that's how I share a Library.
How do I share a document? Well, exactly the same way. When I want to share a document, I'm going to point to this item here called the Callout, a little Open Menu opens. And I could say I'd like to SHARE this. Now once again, I can see who it's shared with already if I want. But I am going to go ahead and click SHARE, and I have two possible choices at the document level, they either Can edit or they Can view. There's no contributor, because somebody already contributed this. There's no full control, because that's not relevant to a document.
So notice that when I get to the document level, just two choices, can they edit it or can they only see it. So I could say for example that I'd like Mark LaCie to be able to only view this document, not edit it. I would click Share and at that point Mark would be able to see it. So let's go ahead and share this with Mark. So, three different ways to share, whether I'm sharing a document, a library or a site. Sites are shared here, libraries are shared here, documents are shared here using the callout.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
82 Video lessons · 76831 Viewers
80 Video lessons · 130955 Viewers
52 Video lessons · 64841 Viewers
59 Video lessons · 50664 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.