Start learning with our library of video tutorials taught by experts. Get started

Maya 2011 Essential Training

Reviewing the Viewport menus


From:

Maya 2011 Essential Training

with George Maestri

Video: Reviewing the Viewport menus

Now Maya is a texturing and rendering package in addition to being a modeling and animation package. And there are times when you want to preview what you're lighting, texturing, rendering in the viewport before you actually go to render. Now Maya has a number of different options that allow you to pre-visualize your rendering before you actually go to rendering. Now a lot of these are actually held in the Viewport Shading options. So, for example, we could go to Wireframe, and that would actually just show us the wires, or the outlines of the objects that we're working with.
Expand all | Collapse all
  1. 3m 50s
    1. Welcome
      1m 34s
    2. Using the exercise files
      26s
    3. A note on screen resolution
      1m 50s
  2. 1h 0m
    1. Overview of the Maya interface
      7m 42s
    2. Working with files and Maya projects
      2m 27s
    3. Navigating viewports
      5m 56s
    4. Reviewing the Viewport menus
      6m 28s
    5. Configuring safe frames and grids
      3m 21s
    6. Selecting objects
      4m 33s
    7. Using the Move tool
      3m 48s
    8. Rotating and scaling
      4m 31s
    9. Manipulating pivots
      3m 59s
    10. Understanding the Channel Box
      5m 36s
    11. Working with the Attribute Editor
      2m 28s
    12. Using the Hotbox
      2m 59s
    13. Working with marking menus
      3m 6s
    14. Customizing the interface
      3m 36s
  3. 59m 25s
    1. Creating polygonal objects
      6m 28s
    2. Working with polygonal components
      4m 42s
    3. Selecting polygonal components
      5m 44s
    4. Working with Soft Select
      7m 3s
    5. Using the Extrude tool
      6m 47s
    6. Keeping faces together
      2m 42s
    7. Extruding along curves
      3m 27s
    8. Using the Polygon Bevel tool
      4m 14s
    9. Smooth and subdivision surfaces
      7m 6s
    10. Blocking out a character body
      11m 12s
  4. 36m 6s
    1. Working with edge loops
      3m 27s
    2. Inserting and offsetting edge loops
      3m 38s
    3. Symmetrical modeling techniques
      5m 53s
    4. Combining objects
      3m 50s
    5. Using the Polygon Bridge tool
      2m 7s
    6. Connecting components and splitting polygons
      2m 48s
    7. Poking and wedging faces
      2m 49s
    8. Working with polygon booleans
      3m 17s
    9. Modeling with nonlinear deformers
      4m 54s
    10. Modeling with lattices
      3m 23s
  5. 1h 18m
    1. Introducing NURBS modeling
      5m 3s
    2. NURBS primitives
      5m 54s
    3. Using the NURBS curve tools
      5m 7s
    4. Creating Bézier curves
      1m 59s
    5. Creating text
      3m 51s
    6. Manipulating NURBS curves
      4m 13s
    7. Refining NURBS curves
      4m 16s
    8. Offsetting NURBS curves
      2m 31s
    9. Editing NURBS surfaces
      7m 3s
    10. Refining NURBS surfaces
      7m 22s
    11. Using NURBS Revolve
      7m 31s
    12. Using NURBS Loft
      4m 11s
    13. Using NURBS Extrude
      6m 0s
    14. Using NURBS Planar
      4m 47s
    15. Stitching NURBS surfaces
      8m 52s
  6. 35m 53s
    1. Extracting NURBS curves from surfaces
      5m 57s
    2. Creating curves on a surface
      3m 53s
    3. Projecting curves on surfaces
      7m 2s
    4. Trimming NURBS surfaces
      3m 42s
    5. Using the NURBS Fillet tool
      5m 31s
    6. Sculpting NURBS and polygonal surfaces
      5m 52s
    7. Converting NURBS to polygons
      3m 56s
  7. 33m 22s
    1. Working with the Outliner
      4m 58s
    2. Grouping objects
      4m 2s
    3. Creating hierarchies
      4m 17s
    4. Duplicating objects
      4m 51s
    5. Understanding the Hypergraph
      3m 32s
    6. Working with Hypergraph connections
      2m 31s
    7. Hiding and showing objects
      2m 12s
    8. Creating layers
      4m 2s
    9. Working with selection masks
      2m 57s
  8. 40m 18s
    1. Overview of renderers
      3m 24s
    2. Understand the basics of materials
      6m 15s
    3. Creating and applying maps
      5m 13s
    4. Using bitmaps as texture
      2m 59s
    5. Working with the Hypershade window
      5m 12s
    6. Working with mental ray materials
      6m 57s
    7. Using displacement and bump mapping
      3m 14s
    8. Using the Ramp Shader
      2m 36s
    9. Using the 3D Paint tool
      4m 28s
  9. 30m 14s
    1. Texture-mapping NURBS surfaces
      5m 46s
    2. Projecting textures onto surfaces
      4m 0s
    3. Texture-mapping polygonal surfaces
      7m 0s
    4. Applying UV mapping
      8m 11s
    5. Using the UVW Editor
      5m 17s
  10. 41m 16s
    1. Creating joints
      10m 2s
    2. Deforming a mesh using the Skin tool
      5m 2s
    3. Creating IK handles
      6m 48s
    4. Creating blend shapes
      5m 39s
    5. Rigging nonlinear deformers
      2m 36s
    6. Finalizing the character
      4m 45s
    7. Rigging the character to the scooter
      6m 24s
  11. 1h 5m
    1. Working with the Timeline
      4m 16s
    2. Creating and adjusting keys (keyframes)
      5m 4s
    3. Editing keys
      3m 13s
    4. Modifying keys in the Graph Editor
      5m 47s
    5. Modifying keys in the Dope Sheet
      2m 51s
    6. Creating breakdown keys
      2m 28s
    7. Animating objects along paths
      5m 54s
    8. Animation playback using Playblast
      3m 10s
    9. Animating with constraints
      6m 16s
    10. Creating animation cycles
      8m 25s
    11. Using set-driven keys
      6m 13s
    12. Adding sound to animations
      2m 24s
    13. Finishing the animation
      9m 45s
  12. 1h 2m
    1. Lights and lighting types in Maya
      7m 29s
    2. Adding depth-map shadows
      4m 13s
    3. Using Raytrace shadows
      3m 28s
    4. Understanding the basics of cameras
      7m 14s
    5. Adding depth of field
      6m 31s
    6. Adding Bokeh using mental ray
      4m 33s
    7. Using motion blur in Maya Software Renderer
      4m 10s
    8. Using motion blur in mental ray
      3m 5s
    9. Raytracing reflections and refractions
      4m 41s
    10. Interactive rendering with IPR
      3m 33s
    11. Lighting a scene
      8m 29s
    12. Batch rendering
      4m 53s
  13. 25s
    1. Goodbye
      25s

Watch this entire course now—plus get access to every course in the library. Each course includes high-quality videos taught by expert instructors.

Become a member
Please wait...
Maya 2011 Essential Training
9h 8m Beginner Jun 01, 2010

Viewers: in countries Watching now:

In Maya 2011 Essential Training, George Maestri demonstrates the tools and feature set in Maya, as well as the skills necessary to model, texture, animate, and render projects with this deep and robust piece of 3D animation software from Autodesk. This course takes an in-depth tour of Maya's interface, including navigating and manipulating objects in 3D and customizing the workspace. The course also covers object creation and modeling basics, shading and texturing, surface mapping techniques, character rigging, and lastly, rendering and final output. Exercise files accompany the course.

Topics include:
  • Getting familiar with the Maya interface
  • Organizing scenes
  • Creating hierarchies
  • NURBs modeling for solid objects
  • Adding color to models
  • Applying bitmap textures
  • Working with mental ray materials
  • Polygonal modeling for characters and organic objects
  • Deforming with the Skin tool
  • Setting up lights and cameras
  • Creating realistic effects such as depth of field
  • Working with the Timeline
  • Creating animation cycles
  • Batch rendering
  • Rendering with the mental ray engine
Subject:
3D + Animation
Software:
Maya
Author:
George Maestri

Reviewing the Viewport menus

Now Maya is a texturing and rendering package in addition to being a modeling and animation package. And there are times when you want to preview what you're lighting, texturing, rendering in the viewport before you actually go to render. Now Maya has a number of different options that allow you to pre-visualize your rendering before you actually go to rendering. Now a lot of these are actually held in the Viewport Shading options. So, for example, we could go to Wireframe, and that would actually just show us the wires, or the outlines of the objects that we're working with.

If I want, I can go into Smooth Shade. And what that does is basically gives me rough color, and it also shows me the actual objects themselves, so it actually allows some shading. One option that I really like is called Wireframe on Shaded, and that is kind of combination of both of those. It allows you to view the wires, but with shadings. You can actually see where all of your vertices and edges are in your models, but also see the actual result of those with shading.

It's a lot easier to visualize things. And I'm going to go ahead and turn that Off. There's other options you can have, and another nice one is called X-Ray. And what this does is allows you to kind of see through stuff, in kind of an X-Ray view. This is great for modeling, if you want to actually kind of visualize what you're modeling, but you still need to see all the wires, and you need to see everything. This is a really great way to work with that. I'm going to go ahead and turn this off. Many times when you want to be working with textures, and actually see the textures on the objects that you're working with, we can turn those on, by going all the way down here to something called Hardware Texturing.

If I turn that on, you can see I've got some textures on the carpet, the pictures on the walls, and there's like background image to show what's behind the windows, that sort of thing. So I can actually turn those on or off. There are some keyboard shortcuts that probably are going to make this a lot easier for you, and those are 4, 5 and 6, and let me show you what those do. When I hit 4, it goes to Wireframe mode. So I can see the wires. When I hit number 5, it goes to Flat Shaded mode. Number 6 goes to Hardware Texture mode, so 4, 5, 6. 4, 5, 6.

Much easier than digging through the menus in any viewport. So in addition to Shading, we also have Lighting. So we can actually just use what's called the Default Lighting, which is this kind of this generic flat lighting. Or we can use the actual lights in the scene. So when I turn this on, you can actually get kind of an idea to how the lighting is going to look in the scene. And in fact, if you look up here, we've got four lights up here, and then another little light down here. So I've got total five lights in the scene, and this is the lighting that they create.

Now in addition to Lighting, we can also view Shadows. So if I want, I can come down here and turn on Shadows. And you can actually see how the shadows work with this particular scene. Now the next menu over here is called Show. And what this does is it allows us to turn on and off specific types of objects in the scenes. So let's say you're modeling, and you're working with all the NURB surfaces. You may want to turn off other things that are getting in the ways. You kind of clean out your scene and just view those things that you're working with at that particular time.

So you can just turn things on and off by type. So, for example, if I turned off Lights, you wouldn't see the Lights. See how those kind of disappeared, but the Lighting still works. So the actual effect of Lights works, you just don't see them in the scene, so they don't clutter things up. So if I turn to back on, you can see how they come on. The next one is actually kind of important. We've got one here called Renderer. This just determines the quality of the rendering that you have in the scene. So right now we have what's called Default Quality Rendering, which is what we're seeing.

We also have another one called High Quality Rendering. That actually gives you a much better quality rendering. Now notice how the shadows and the lighting look a lot more realistic. In fact, if I zoom in here, you can see I've got kind of this semitransparent shadow on the coffee table, which I wasn't getting before. So this High Quality Rendering actually will give you a much better idea as to what your final render will look like. The one issue with this is that it is graphics-card-dependent.

So the better the graphics card, the better this rendering will look, and a lower-level graphics card might not show it as well. But for a scene of this caliber, you probably can get away with High Quality Rendering on almost any graphics card. There is an additional Renderer, and this is actually brand-new to Maya 2011. And this is called Viewport 2.0. What this does is it can get you even better quality lighting. But again, it makes even more demands on the graphics card. And another thing you need to be aware of with Viewport 2.0 is that some functions within Maya don't show up when you're rendering in that method.

So it some things may not seem to work properly, it's because you're not currently supported in the Viewport 2.0 Renderer, so for the best compromise for me is to go into High Quality Rendering and use that. There is one more keystroke that I want to show you. Remember how we did 4, 5 and 6, to show Wireframe, Flat Shade, Textures. And if you go 7, you go to High Quality Rendering. So actually we have four keystrokes, right along the top of the keyboard.

So 4, 5, 6 and 7, and those are basically just increasing levels of quality, in how you render viewport. Now every viewport renders by itself. So, for example, I can have one here rendered in High Quality Rendering, and here I could do one in Wireframe or Flat Shaded. So, each individual viewport has its own rendering style. So you can actually mix-and- match these if you have multiple viewports available. So those are some of the options for viewports, and as you work in Maya, you'll find uses for each of these.

When you're modeling, you'll probably stick to the Wireframe menus, and then as you get towards rendering, you probably get into the Shading and Texturing options of those Windows.

Find answers to the most frequently asked questions about Maya 2011 Essential Training.


Expand all | Collapse all
Please wait...
Q: The Chapter 2 exercise file dog_reference.mb appears blank when opened in Maya. I can't see the dog image. What do I do?
A: Make sure you are working with the most current version of the exercise files for this course from the lynda.com site. Try downloading the files again. If the image still doesn't appear, make sure the project folder is set to the matching (Chap02) folder in the exercise files.
 
Also check to make sure you have "hardware texturing" enabled under the viewport's Shading menu.
Share a link to this course
Please wait... Please wait...
Upgrade to get access to exercise files.

Exercise files video

How to use exercise files.

Learn by watching, listening, and doing, Exercise files are the same files the author uses in the course, so you can download them and follow along Premium memberships include access to all exercise files in the library.
Upgrade now


Exercise files

Exercise files video

How to use exercise files.

For additional information on downloading and using exercise files, watch our instructional video or read the instructions in the FAQ.

This course includes free exercise files, so you can practice while you watch the course. To access all the exercise files in our library, become a Premium Member.

Upgrade now

Are you sure you want to mark all the videos in this course as unwatched?

This will not affect your course history, your reports, or your certificates of completion for this course.


Mark all as unwatched Cancel

Congratulations

You have completed Maya 2011 Essential Training.

Return to your organization's learning portal to continue training, or close this page.


OK
Become a member to add this course to a playlist

Join today and get unlimited access to the entire library of video courses—and create as many playlists as you like.

Get started

Already a member?

Become a member to like this course.

Join today and get unlimited access to the entire library of video courses.

Get started

Already a member?

Exercise files

Learn by watching, listening, and doing! Exercise files are the same files the author uses in the course, so you can download them and follow along. Exercise files are available with all Premium memberships. Learn more

Get started

Already a Premium member?

Exercise files video

How to use exercise files.

Ask a question

Thanks for contacting us.
You’ll hear from our Customer Service team within 24 hours.

Please enter the text shown below:

The classic layout automatically defaults to the latest Flash Player.

To choose a different player, hold the cursor over your name at the top right of any lynda.com page and choose Site preferencesfrom the dropdown menu.

Continue to classic layout Stay on new layout
Welcome to the redesigned course page.

We’ve moved some things around, and now you can



Exercise files

Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.

Mark videos as unwatched

Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.

Control your viewing experience

Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.

Interactive transcripts

Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.

Thanks for signing up.

We’ll send you a confirmation email shortly.


Sign up and receive emails about lynda.com and our online training library:

Here’s our privacy policy with more details about how we handle your information.

Keep up with news, tips, and latest courses with emails from lynda.com.

Sign up and receive emails about lynda.com and our online training library:

Here’s our privacy policy with more details about how we handle your information.

   
submit Lightbox submit clicked