Maya 2011 New Features
Illustration by John Hersey
Watching:

Reviewing the Hypershade Window improvements


From:

Maya 2011 New Features

with George Maestri

Video: Reviewing the Hypershade Window improvements

Let's go ahead and take a look at some of the rendering features in Maya 2011. But before we get started, let's go ahead and set a project so that our textures will show up. I'm going to go File > Project > Set. And let's make sure we have Chapter 05 set. And then let's go ahead and open a file. It's called Plane_01.ma. This is just a simple airplane that has some textures on it. The first thing we're going to take a look at is the new Hypershade window.

Start your free trial now, and begin learning software, business and creative skills—anytime, anywhere—with video instruction from recognized industry experts.

Start Your Free Trial Now
please wait ...
Watch the Online Video Course Maya 2011 New Features
1h 22m Intermediate May 13, 2010

Viewers: in countries Watching now:

Author George Maestri explores the significant and robust feature set in Maya 2011 that add functionality for its 3D workflows in Maya 2011 New Features. This course covers the addition of Bezier curves for NURBS modelers, the Connect Component and Spin Edge tools in the polygonal modeling mode, and rigging tools for character animation. Enhancements to rendering and special effects are also reviewed. Exercise files accompany the course.

Topics include:
  • Choosing colors with the Color Picker
  • Using the new Shelf Editor
  • Adjusting skin weights with color feedback with Paint Skin Weights
  • Connecting characters to skeletons with Interactive Skin Bind
  • Making object-level soft selections
  • Constraining objects to polys
  • Using the camera sequencer
  • Exploring the Hypershade window improvements
Subject:
3D + Animation
Software:
Maya
Author:
George Maestri

Reviewing the Hypershade Window improvements

Let's go ahead and take a look at some of the rendering features in Maya 2011. But before we get started, let's go ahead and set a project so that our textures will show up. I'm going to go File > Project > Set. And let's make sure we have Chapter 05 set. And then let's go ahead and open a file. It's called Plane_01.ma. This is just a simple airplane that has some textures on it. The first thing we're going to take a look at is the new Hypershade window.

There have been some additions to it. So let's go ahead and take a look at that. We're going to find that under Window > Rendering Editors > Hypershade. Before I actually go into that, let me point out that there is one thing missing from the Rendering Editors window, and that's Multi-Lister, which had been around since before Maya was a leftover from alias. And so that has finally been taken out of Maya. And now Hypershade is the only way to edit shaders and textures.

So let's go ahead into Hypershade and take a look at this new window. Now like the new interface it actually is sleeker. It looks a little bit nicer. Let's go ahead and actually quickly jump over to Maya 2010 and take a look at the old Hypershade window. And you can see it's pretty similar. You have all of your Create Maya nodes here. You've got your Materials, Textures, all of your tabbed interface here. And we have our work interface here, similar to what it is in Maya 2011. So let's take a look at some of the changes in the interface.

The first thing you'll notice is that this actually now has two vertical panes here. What you're going to find is you're going to find one main entry for each renderer in Maya. So in this case we have the standard Maya renderer and all of the different render nodes that we can use for that. And then we also have the mental ray renderer here and all the default render nodes we can use for that one. Now notice that under each of these we have multiple nodes, so each one of these is really kind of a folder containing additional render nodes.

So you have to click on one of these. And you can get just one, such as the shadow transparency, or you can get dozens of them like we have here, which has all the different types of mental ray shaders. So since we have so many different ones of these, one of the nicer new features is this search box. You can type a word and all the different render nodes that have those letters will show up. And of course, you can use global such as asterisk and question mark and so on.

So for example, if I type phong for phong, I get the five different types of phongs that we have. We have Phong, Phong E in the Maya renderer, as well as in the mental ray renderer, as well another mental ray phong, which is the illumination phong. So that's kind of nice. And we can also again just delete that and go into whatever we want and just search manually. Now another nice little feature is this little slider here which basically is a zoom.

So we can zoom in or out. Depending upon how good your eyesight is, you can probably get more on the screen. And my eyesight is not so good, so I can just make it bigger so I can read everything. And then also another one is if we go up to the top here, we have this one called Favorites, which means that you can actually create favorite render nodes that you can easily access. Again, we really can dig through a lot of these. So you kind of want to be able to bookmark the ones that you like. So for example, if you're using car paint a lot, you can just right-click over it.

And when you right-click, you can just add it to Favorites. So now I've got a mental ray shader. Under Materials, I have car paint. Or if I want, I can go, let's say I wanted to add the dgs_material and so on. So now under Favorites I've got these already setup and ready to go. Now the rest of the window, even though it looks a little bit different, operates very much in the same way as the previous version of Maya. So I'm not going to go into a full Hypershade tutorial.

But I just want to let you know what the differences are and what some of the cool new features in the Hypershade window can do for you.

There are currently no FAQs about Maya 2011 New Features.

 
Share a link to this course

What are exercise files?

Exercise files are the same files the author uses in the course. Save time by downloading the author's files instead of setting up your own files, and learn by following along with the instructor.

Can I take this course without the exercise files?

Yes! If you decide you would like the exercise files later, you can upgrade to a premium account any time.

Become a member Download sample files See plans and pricing

Please wait... please wait ...
Upgrade to get access to exercise files.

Exercise files video

How to use exercise files.

Learn by watching, listening, and doing, Exercise files are the same files the author uses in the course, so you can download them and follow along Premium memberships include access to all exercise files in the library.


Exercise files

Exercise files video

How to use exercise files.

For additional information on downloading and using exercise files, watch our instructional video or read the instructions in the FAQ .

This course includes free exercise files, so you can practice while you watch the course. To access all the exercise files in our library, become a Premium Member.

Join now Already a member? Log in

* Estimated file size

Are you sure you want to mark all the videos in this course as unwatched?

This will not affect your course history, your reports, or your certificates of completion for this course.


Mark all as unwatched Cancel

Congratulations

You have completed Maya 2011 New Features.

Return to your organization's learning portal to continue training, or close this page.


OK
Become a member to add this course to a playlist

Join today and get unlimited access to the entire library of video courses—and create as many playlists as you like.

Get started

Already a member ?

Exercise files

Learn by watching, listening, and doing! Exercise files are the same files the author uses in the course, so you can download them and follow along. Exercise files are available with all Premium memberships. Learn more

Get started

Already a Premium member?

Exercise files video

How to use exercise files.

Ask a question

Thanks for contacting us.
You’ll hear from our Customer Service team within 24 hours.

Please enter the text shown below:

The classic layout automatically defaults to the latest Flash Player.

To choose a different player, hold the cursor over your name at the top right of any lynda.com page and choose Site preferences from the dropdown menu.

Continue to classic layout Stay on new layout
Exercise files

Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.

Mark videos as unwatched

Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.

Control your viewing experience

Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.

Interactive transcripts

Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.

Learn more, save more. Upgrade today!

Get our Annual Premium Membership at our best savings yet.

Upgrade to our Annual Premium Membership today and get even more value from your lynda.com subscription:

“In a way, I feel like you are rooting for me. Like you are really invested in my experience, and want me to get as much out of these courses as possible this is the best place to start on your journey to learning new material.”— Nadine H.

Thanks for signing up.

We’ll send you a confirmation email shortly.


Sign up and receive emails about lynda.com and our online training library:

Here’s our privacy policy with more details about how we handle your information.

Keep up with news, tips, and latest courses with emails from lynda.com.

Sign up and receive emails about lynda.com and our online training library:

Here’s our privacy policy with more details about how we handle your information.

   
submit Lightbox submit clicked
Terms and conditions of use

We've updated our terms and conditions (now called terms of service).Go
Review and accept our updated terms of service.