Start learning with our library of video tutorials taught by experts. Get started
Viewed by members. in countries. members currently watching.
Whether you're completely new to Adobe Lightroom or have been using it from the start, this course from author and digital imaging expert Tim Grey will help you get up to speed quickly with Lightroom 4. He provides a complete overview of the Lightroom interface and workflow and shows how to set up Lightroom to best suit your needs. Along the way, learn the basics of importing, managing, optimizing, and sharing your images. Plus, discover how to use features like auto-advance, Smart Collections, the Library Filter, the Map module, and more.
Generally speaking when we group images together, we think of them as being permanently a part of that group. For example, if we have images contained in a particular folder on the hard drive those images obviously belong in that folder for some reason. Here for example I have my Europe road trip folder. And all of the images in this folder were captured on a road trip in Europe. And so they naturally belong together, and I can't imagine ever changing that folder structure or moving the images into a different folder. Similarly with Collections, I probably would think of those images as being permanently a part of that collection.
I have images in a collection for New York City, I have a Venice, Italy collection. And again, those images relate to that collection in some way. In this case, based on where the images were captured, and so you probably would permanently or relatively permanently keep those images in a collection. I might change my mind about which specific Venice shots I want to include in this collection, for example, but by and large, the collection is going to remain relatively static, at least in terms of not removing images from a collection. However in some cases you might just want a temporary collection.
You may just need to group images together temporarily for a particular purpose. I might for example, want to send some images of myself to my mom, so she can see what fun I was having in Europe. Here's a picture of me photographing in Southern Austria, a photo of me enjoying lunch in Lubljana, Slovenia. An image of me enjoying coffee in Trieste, Italy, you get the idea. I can include these images in a group, so that I can easily send them to my mom via email, but I don't really want to keep that group around permanently.
Nobody else is really all that interested of pictures of me on vacation. For that type of scenario, I would typically use the Quick Collection. You might have noticed that the Quick Collection is included at the top of the left panel under Catalog. We can access all photographs, we can access previously imported photographs, or we can access the Quick Collection. And that quick collection is intended to be something of a fleeting collection. A group of images that you're grouping together only temporarily, so that you can share them in some way, for example. Adding images to a quick collection is remarkably easy. In fact, we can simply point to the thumbnail for an image and then Click on the small circle that appears at the top right of that thumbnail. That circle will then become permanent on the image indicating that that image is included in the Quick Collection.
Similarly I could work in the Grid View and simply click at the top right of the thumbnail for any image within the Grid View. As I'm navigating among my images I can also use a keyboard shortcut. I can press the letter B on the keyboard to add an image to the Quick Collection. Or if it's already in the quick collection, pressing B will remove that image from the Quick Collection. I'll go ahead and press B again, so that this image is included in the Quick Collection. And then if I Click on the Quick Collection over on the left panel you'll see that I have a series of images that are already in that Quick Collection.
These images obviously belong together in some way. In this case, because I want to share them, but I don't want to group them together permanently. I'm just using the Quick Collection as a quick way, no pun intended, to group some images together for a temporary purpose. Once you finish working with the images in your Quick Collection, and you don't really want them included in that Quick Collection anymore, it's a good idea to Clear Out the Quick Collection so that it will be empty. And that way any images you add in the future will be the only images in that Quick Collection. If I were working on a different project, I would not want to add those images from that particular project to these images.
I want the Quick Collection to have a fresh start essentially. To do that, I can Right Click on the Quick Collection and then simply choose the Clear Quick Collection option from the pop-up menu. As you can see, that Quick Collection provides a very easy way to work with your images, grouping a set of images together, temporarily, for a particular task.
There are currently no FAQs about Getting Started with Lightroom 4.
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.