Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
Much like any other social network, you have the ability to block people on Instagram as well. If you want to block somebody on Instagram, it's actually pretty easy. Just navigate to their profile page like you see here and once you get to the Profile page, just navigate up here to this little icon and you can tap that and choose Block User. And so, let's go through a little blocking FAQ if you will. So a lot of people will want to know like if I block somebody, will they still be able to search for my profile on Instagram? The answer to that is no. If you block a user and they search for your username or your full name on Instagram, they will be unable to locate your account at all.
So nobody will be able to find you that you block. Anything that a user has liked that appears in their What I've Liked tab on their profile, if you block them, they won't be able to see that anymore. So all of those photos are then removed from their Photos I've Liked tab. As far as their Likes and comments that appear on your profile, on your images, those are not removed. So if somebody has commented, said something inflammatory, and you block them after they say that, that comment is still there unless you remove that manually. I'll show you how to do that in a later movie in this course.
But, just know that you have to remove those manually from the photos themselves. You cannot just expect them to go away once you block the user; same thing for Likes as well. Your comments and Likes are still visible on the comments of the blocked user. So, if the person you're blocking, if you've liked one of their photos or you have posted a comment on one of their photos, that will still be visible on their profile as well. As far as how they get in touch with you, a blocked user can still mention you by putting an @ in front of your name on Instagram, and this mention will appear in your news feed.
If you block a user and then change your username, it will prevent the blocked user from being able to mention you on Instagram because they won't be able to find you with your new username, because you have essentially disabled them from searching for you by blocking them. So, in the end, it's up to you whether or not you want to block someone by just going here and clicking Block User will do that. You can also report them for spam if they're posting spam on your account, and Instagram can then deal with them however they see fit. If you block a user, you can always go back to their profile page, and unblock them by going to the same screen, and instead of Block Users, it will say Unblock User.
So, it's totally up to you. But, I would reserve this for only people who have done really bad stuff, posting inflammatory remarks, constantly spamming you with ads or something like that, or maybe they're posting photos in your timeline that you find offensive, either way, you have the ability to block them. But, I would use this with some level of discretion so that you don't really start to irritate people that you've blocked, especially close friends and family, because they will inevitably come to you and say, "Hey! Why did you block me on Instagram?" But, in the end, it's your choice. So, if you need to, block away.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
164 Video lessons · 54501 Viewers
64 Video lessons · 86380 Viewers
86 Video lessons · 55763 Viewers
148 Video lessons · 93126 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.