Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
In the previous chapter we discussed creating layouts, and once layouts are created you have various ways to configure each one of them. In this chapter, we'll discuss the different options available for existing layouts. Let's start first by looking at the Customer layout in Layout mode. We'll navigate over to Layout mode by going View > Layout mode. Although we chose a lot of settings when we created the layout for the first time, we can also edit this information at anytime in the future by using what's called the Layout Setup. The Layout Setup dialog can be accessed, in Layout mode only, by clicking on either this icon that's next to the layout list with the little pencil on it, or by going under Layouts to Layout Setup.
In either case, the Layout Setup dialog appears, and you see that there are various different tabs, all with their own options. The first option you see is the ability to change the existing name of the layout. You could also choose to change the context of the layout. By checking your and checking this box, you can include the layout in the existing list of layouts when you're in Browse mode. You'll notice that all three of these options were available when we first created layout. So if you've ever need to make any changes, you would do them through the Layout Setup dialog.
But in addition to the layout's Name and Context, there are several other attributes and behaviors that are controlled by the settings in this Layout Setup dialog. Under General, you'll notice that we have two options in the middle. You can see that Save record changes automatically is set by default. This makes it so that any changes that your users make while in Browse mode will be saved when they leave a record. So it takes on FileMaker's native functionality of automatically saving any changes; fowever, if you uncheck this box, users will be presented with a dialog to save the record each time they make a change and then leave a record.
Let's take a look at what that looks like. Right now, if you don't make any changes, we say OK, and we go into Browse mode, and we make a change with no issues. We go into Layout mode, invoke the Layout Setup dialog, uncheck that box and hit OK. Now go back into Browse mode, and now we go in and we hit Delete and try to commit the record.
Now, we see that a message appears asking us whether or not we want to save the record. If we say Don't Save, the value reverts back to where it originally was. If we click in there and hit Delete again and this time hit Save, we see that now we've told FileMaker to commit the change. This could be a good idea for users who are having trouble with making unintended changes. Back in Layout mode, with the Layout Setup, we'll return it to the default, and you will see that we've got an option down here below for enabling Quick Find. We're going to talk more about that in the chapter on Find, but this is one of the new features inside FileMaker 11.
In the Views tab, you can control whether or not the user can use their View Settings to toggle between Form View, List View and Table View. It's probably a good idea, when you have a Detail View like the Customers record, to only allow them to view it in Form View rather than List View. So in that case, we can deselect this List View option and even the Table View option. That way the users won't have the ability to toggle between those different options. You also see down below that you can pick the Default View, if you have more than one option available, but you see now that List View has been grayed out because we've removed that option by deselecting that check box.
You'll also notice that you must have at least one View selected; otherwise, no one can actually see your Layout. You'll notice within the Table View you have several different properties: You can show your grids horizontally and vertically, and you can choose from some of the default options which allows the users to resize column headers or reorder them by clicking them and dragging them, or even sorting by clicking on the column header. All those are pretty cool features when your users are in Table View, so you might want to leave those selected. One of the things that you might want to choose is whether or not to include a Header part and a Footer part.
Those of these parts here, and in the upcoming movies we will discuss the roles of the different parts, which might help you make those decisions in the future. You can also do a custom height for your row. By default it'll take on a 14-pixel height, but you can change that by selecting this option and then making the change. And finally, if you've come up with a Custom View that is based off of a Label Layout, you can decide to print in different columns, either across or down or use fixed page margins. This is when you get into more intermediate or advanced layout design.
And then later in this movie, we are going to have an entire discussion on Script Triggers, but this is where you would assign what's called a Layout Level Script Trigger. So you can see that the Label Setup dialog allows us to modify many of the original settings on the existing layouts, and then provides us some control over some of the other functionalities that are based on the layouts that exist within our system.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
82 Video lessons · 91304 Viewers
80 Video lessons · 138231 Viewers
59 Video lessons · 57057 Viewers
52 Video lessons · 70715 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.