Start learning with our library of video tutorials taught by experts. Get started
Viewed by members. in countries. members currently watching.
Harness the power of Evernote for Mac, a popular cloud note-taking and note-sharing tool. This course begins with a look at ways Evernote can help you note and track important items and then build and work with notes and collect notebooks for sharing. Author David Rivers also shows how to take and store photos, screenshots, and even video in notebooks. Plus, the powerful tagging and search features help keep your notes organized and accessible. The course also covers the notebook sharing and protection features, so your privacy is maintained at all times.
In the previous movie, we saw how easily we can share individual notes with other people, but we can also share an entire notebook with people. There's a couple of different options we're going to explore now. First though, let's select the notebook we want to share. I'm going with this one in my personal stack called David's Notebook. Next, we'll go up to the share button that appears next to the name of our notebook, here on the snippet list, that's the quickest way. Give it a click and you will see two options for sharing this notebook. We can Invited Individuals, so only a select group of people will be able to access this, or we can Create a Public Link, and then share that link with people.
Keeping in mind that anyone will be able to access the link, it really is public until we stop sharing. Let's go with Invite Individuals. We'll give it a click. That way we can type in email addresses of the people we want to invite. Separate those e-mail addresses with commas. I'm going to add one dummy address here firstname.lastname@example.org. There we go. You can hit your Tab key if you want, or simply move your mouse down to the drop-down that you see under Individuals who joined can, can what? View notes as the default.
You might also want to let them view notes and any activity, so they see when it's shared, when it's not shared, etc. Let's go with notes and activity. Now down below, we can allow the notebook preview as well. Which means people won't need to log into Evernote to view the contents of our notebook. I'm going to click that checked box. We can add a message. I'm going to say something like, this notebook will be available until the end of the month for viewing. There we go.
And when we click Invite, any address we added to the e-mail address section, messages are sent to those individuals. At any time, this is now a shared notebook. We could e-mail those users with additional information. It could send a reminder that they have access to it. We could also add additional individuals to the list. And we could still Create a Public Link if we wanted to. Clicking Dismiss down at the bottom, simply dismisses this screen, but our notebook is shared. And if we were to log in to our e-mail there's driversmac8, who sent an invitation to join this Evernote Notebook called David's Notebook. I click it.
And then down below, I can open the shared notebook. Now, keeping in mind that when I click this, I'll have the option to join the notebook. Which means I'll use my Evernote account to look at the notebook, just like I would with my own notebooks that I created. Or, because the option was selected, when this notebook was shared, down below we can view the notebook. Clicking View Notebook means reviewing it in our web browser. So, I don't even need an Evernote account to be able to see the contents of the notebook. I could still join the notebook, if I did get an Evernote account.
But for now, I can go through the various notes, reading the contents of those notes, just like the person who created the notebook and those notes there in. All right, let's switch back now to Evernote. And as I mentioned, at any time we could stop sharing this notebook. When we go to the Share button, we can see that indeed, we have people who are being able to view our notes and activities in this notebook. But there's a next, next to the name of every individual we've invited, in this case only one. Clicking the x, brings up this message were about to remove a user from the notebook.
And are we sure that we want to stop sharing the notebook?. When we click remove, because there is no one else were sharing with, it's no longer shared, and people will not be able to view the contents. So we can click dismiss, knowing that we've shared out notebook temporarily with people we wanted to, and it wasn't all that difficult here in Evernote for Mac.
There are currently no FAQs about Up and Running with Evernote for Mac (2013).
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.