Start learning with our library of video tutorials taught by experts. Get started
Viewers: in countries Watching now:
In Adobe Connect Essential Training, author Tim Plumer, Jr. explains how to deliver and host interactive web meetings, webinars, and e-learning tutorials using Adobe Connect. The course covers the software's many tools for streamlining communication and engaging participants, such as the screen sharing, full-screen, and whiteboard features. Also included are tutorials on recording presentations, video conferencing, and using Connect with an iPhone or Android-based smartphone. Exercise files accompany the course.
In almost every meeting I run, the Attendee pod is visible to me somewhere. In larger presentations, I'll usually show it in the first layout and then hide it over in the Presenter Only Area as the meeting gets rolling. In smaller or more collaborative meetings, I will leave it right out in the open, so that everybody can see the other attendees by name. I do this, because it gives me more than just a list of people in my meeting. I can manage them from the list in a number of important ways. So let's take a look. Now, if you want to play along with this, you may want to invite a bunch of people into your meeting room or you can actually even log in on a second computer and become a participant in your own meeting.
Either way is fine, but it's helpful to have more than just yourself in a meeting to do this. So what we are looking at here first off at the Attendee list is at the top I can see how many people are in my meeting. That's important to keep an eye on because when you first start out with the Attendee list, the participants and presenters, other than hosts, may have their little triangle twirled so that you can't see how many there are. But I can see that there are three people in the room, so there are at least two other people here. When I click on Participants, I can see them.
Now if I look carefully, I can see that Presenters is grayed out and Participants is not and that's how I should be able to tell, but it's always a good backup to keep an eye up there, especially when you're about to start the meeting and wondering if there are any people in your meeting. So, I will open this back up. Now, another thing that I really don't like when I have a meeting where I allow anyone in, because the meeting is set up so that anyone who knows the URL can jump into the meeting, is when someone comes in and just types Guest. I really don't know who this person is and what I will probably do is either chat with them or if they are on the phone I will ask to find out who it is.
Once, I know who that person is then I can edit their name in the Attendee list by selecting it, coming up to the Pod Options, choosing Attendee Options and then I'll Edit the User Info. And instead of Guest, I know this is Kirk. So, I will click OK. Now, at least I know who I'm dealing with. If I can't find out who it is and I'm concerned that there is somebody in the room that isn't supposed to be there, I might open up a Note pod and say something like this. I will just open up a quick Note pod here and say All guests must use their name, and then I'll grab that person by selecting their name, selecting from the Pod Options, Remove Selected User and then kick them out of the room.
Now, if they were paying attention, they may try to rejoin as guest and I can kind of keep an eye on that. But it's a really good practice to in your invite when you're talking to people, however you communicate the fact that you're going to have a meeting, let them know that if they're going to log in as a guest they need to use at least their first name. Generally, I actually prefer people to use their full name so that I can know who's there. I can't really prove who it is but it's a lot more comfortable, if you will, to know by name who that person is because you really want people in the room that you're expecting.
Now, once I have the people in the room that I want in the room, I can start to give them differential access to the things in the room that they might want to use. For example, Olivia might want to speak and if we are using Voice over IP, I could enable Olivia's audio by selecting Enable Audio. What that will do is it will make it so that Olivia can access the microphone. Without my selecting this, she can't. Now, if I don't have to do this to every individual user, I can under the Audio option select Enable Audio For Participants and when I do that, then when I hover over a name, notice that Enable Audio Individually is not available.
There are a couple of other things that I can do here. From this hover list, I can enable them to use Video. So, if we are using web cameras for the session, I can enable them to access the web camera. And then Request Screen Share, so if I am having a more collaborative meeting and I want them to show me their screen, I can actually request that and give them access to that at the same time. There's another level of access though that I can give to people directly through this. I am going to select Olivia again, and let's say that I want Olivia to use this Share pod here to upload and share some information. Perhaps a PowerPoint slide.
Well, to do that, first off we will just get this out of the way. Second off, I would need to give her access to that and for that I'm going to select her name, come up to the Pod Options, and choose Attendee Options > Enhanced Participant Rights. What I can do with the Enhanced Participant Rights is to give a user specific rights to a pod type. In this case, I'll give her rights to the Share pod and click OK. Now, if she had a PowerPoint presentation or she wanted to share her screen or whatever, she could do that.
It's important to realize that when I give a user Enhanced Participant Rights such as I've done here with Olivia, she has rights to any Share pod, not a specific Share pod. So just keep that in mind. Once Olivia is done, you may want to go back, select Enhanced Participant Rights one more time under the Attendee Options, and then just take them away when she is done presenting. Now, instead of doing this on a one-off basis and giving people specific rights to specific things, which can actually become cumbersome if you've got a lot of people that you want to have act in a certain way.
Maybe you've got several people that you want to participate, one person you want to have become a presenter. Well, you can start to manage that directly by selecting the person and then making them a host or making them a presenter. Later on, I'll define specifically what these two terms mean, but I want to show you right here that I can make someone a host or a presenter by either selecting from the hover menu that appears or by simply clicking their name and dragging and dropping it over the category that I want to add them to.
So, now Olivia is a presenter and when she is done, I can grab her name and drag it back over to Participants and take those rights away. Finally, when a participant wants to communicate with me, and maybe I haven't given them access to the audio, I don't want them to talk to me but I do need them to be able to communicate, they can use their status to do so. So, what Olivia can do right now is from the Status menu, which is this thing up here that looks kind of a little person raising their hand, she can choose from among the various types of status available.
So, what Olivia wants to do is she wants to tell me that I need to speak louder. All she needs to do is choose that status from the list and it will appear in the Attendee pod. And there we go. That's the little icon that means please speak up. So the Attendee list is more than just a list of the people who are in the room. It's a set of tools to help you manage those people in the room whether you want to give them specific enhanced rights, change the information that you have about them like their name or actually remove them from the room because you feel like you need to.
That's what the tool is for and that's how you use it.
There are currently no FAQs about Adobe Connect Essential Training.
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.