Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
Depending upon how your institution has configured Blackboard, you may or may not have the option of removing or un-enrolling a user from your course by clicking on Users and then clicking the name to the left of the person and clicking Remove Users from Course. Don't do this. There are two reasons. First, it erases all traces that that person was ever enrolled in your course, all the homework, all the assignment, all the discussion board post. It's as if this student never existed.
This is a horrible thing if there's a grade challenge. Going and removing the student erases them from your course. It's as if they've never existed. That's a bad thing. Second, if Blackboard is tied to your student information system, erasing a student or removing them from the course will actually just remove them from the course for a little bit, and the next time that your student information system pushes the student roster again, the student is going to be back. Many institutions actually disable the Unenroll Users feature, just because it causes such a nightmare with grade challenges.
However, if it's there on your campus, I want to show you how to remove a user from the course, if you really want to do it. Again, remember, you're causing some problems here. But let's say that I want to get rid of Olivia Anderson. I want to get rid of her from my course. I want to erase her. I want it to be as if I've never heard of her ever. I click the check mark to left of Olivia Anderson's username and click Remove User from Course. It is going to give me an error message, or a warning message, here saying, are you sure about this, because this is final and it cannot be undone.
Once you delete a user, that user is deleted; there is no way to get them back. So if you're sure about it, click on OK, and Olivia is gone. It's as if she never touched my class. I have no record that she was ever there. Now, let me show you something else. I'm going to scroll down here, and I have got Nigel French here, and Nigel French is a co-instructor. So how do I remove a co-instructor? And the answer is, you can't exactly yet. Let me try to remove him right now.
So I'm an instructor. I'm Patrick Crispen. This is Nigel French. If I click on Remove Users from Course, it's going to give me that same message, it's going to say this action is final and cannot be undone. By the way, when I remove an instructor, it doesn't remove the instructor's files. The files stay, and they just say that they were uploaded by the Blackboard administrator. I'm going to say OK, and it's going to give me an error message at the top of the page saying, "Cannot remove instructor users from course. Only system administrator users can remove instructor users." Before you contact your system administrator, there actually is a secret: you can remove an instructor from a course that you're teaching.
However, it takes two steps. Step number one is you have to demote the instructor. To the right of the word Nigel, in other words, his username, there is this button with the two downward-facing chevrons-- remember that usually means edit or more. I'm going to click on that, and I'm going to change Nigel's role in this course. I'm going to change him right now from an instructor to a student. That's perfectly fine. I can do that. So I've changed Nigel from an instructor to a student. Now that he is a student, I can remove him from the course, and I won't get the error message.
So remember, you may have the option of removing or un-enrolling a user from your Blackboard course. Don't do it, please don't do it. However, if you have to, use the Remove Users from Course button and if that button is not available to you, contact your institution's help desk and ask them how they would remove a user from your course.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
82 Video lessons · 74959 Viewers
80 Video lessons · 129933 Viewers
52 Video lessons · 64111 Viewers
59 Video lessons · 49904 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.