Easy-to-follow video tutorials help you learn software, creative, and business skills.Become a member
Many institutions, and many instructors, for that matter, choose to hide Blackboard courses from the students until the instructor is ready to make that course available. This in effect gives instructors time to prep the course in private. Some institutions also choose to hide courses from students after the end of an academic term, or year. Courses that are not available to the students have the word Unavailable in parentheses to the right of the name of the course. Unavailable does not mean that you cannot access the course, it only means that your students cannot access the course.
And depending on your institution's Blackboard configuration, an unavailable course doesn't even appear on the students' My Courses list. Remember, unavailable doesn't mean that the course doesn't exist. My Instructional Design course is there. I can access the Instructional Design course by clicking on it. It's just not available to the students yet, until I turn it on. To make an unavailable course available to the students, click the name of the course, under My Courses, and then scroll down.
In Course Management, under Customization, choose Properties. There are several properties that are available here. Some institutions allow you to change the name and description of your course; others do not. Some institutions allow you to reclassify your course; others do not. In this case, we're concerned with the Set Availability. Right now, this course is not available to users, but if I choose yes, I want to make the course available to the users, and then I either scroll up or down, and click on Submit, I've now made my course available to the students.
If I click on My Institution, I can now see that the course is available to students. So remember, many institutions and many instructors hide their courses until they're ready for the students. You can tell if your course is not available to the students but still it's available to you if you log in to the Blackboard and to the right of the name of the course, you see the word Unavailable. The word Unavailable means that the course is not available to students but is available to you.
To make an unavailable course available to students, click the name of the course, scroll down under the Course Management, in the Properties, third option, choose Yes.
Get unlimited access to all courses for just $25/month.Become a member
82 Video lessons · 68483 Viewers
80 Video lessons · 126492 Viewers
52 Video lessons · 61924 Viewers
84 Video lessons · 28403 Viewers
Access exercise files from a button right under the course name.
Search within course videos and transcripts, and jump right to the results.
Remove icons showing you already watched videos if you want to start over.
Make the video wide, narrow, full-screen, or pop the player out of the page into its own window.
Click on text in the transcript to jump to that spot in the video. As the video plays, the relevant spot in the transcript will be highlighted.
Your file was successfully uploaded.